Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This is a good basic quick recipe for red beans and rice. I prefer fresh garlic (2-3 toes finely chopped), one large onion chopped, and then following the recipe from there. Remember, do not salt your beans until after they almost fully cooked, otherwise they will not soften as nice as you might like. The hock is for seasoning. I have used smoked pork chops, ham shanks or omitted the pork and used a low sodium chicken stock and added a little more smoked sausage near the end of the cooking time. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisette
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Used this recipe and enjoyed it more than the old stand-by recipe I've used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Didn't make any changes, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I loved this. I used my a little more of my homemade broth and added the rice to cook with the beans and New Mexican chili powder. Froze great and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Great and easy recipe. I left off the bay leaf because I didn't have any and the cayenne pepper because I'm whimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Hot Italian sausage. Take small French bread sub rolls and cut them in half. Scoop out the inside part of the roll and refill it with the red beans, rice and sausage. I call it a Cajun ice cream cone and you eat it just like one. Great for those cold Sunday football parties and tailgating at the stadium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I had some red beans that needed to be used up, and I've heard a lot about beans and rice, so I thought I would give it a try. I forgot to soak the beans overnight, so I tried to quick soak them, but I didn't do it right. Oh well... I didn't have a ham hock, so I just left that out. I used smoked turkey sausage and it turned out great. The only thing that didn't work was the beans weren't as creamy as I would like, but I think if I soak them overnight and maybe cook them a bit longer, it'll turn out great. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I like red beans and I like rice. but when their put together you still just have beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious. I used half the cayenne and red pepper flakes because I was serving it to kids, and I used minced fresh onion and garlic. The middle-schoolers gobbled it up! Will definitely make it again and use full pepper amounts for my own family. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE A WEEK LATER- made it for the family and this time i did a quick soak (boil then let sit in covered pot for one hour) instead of overnight soak. Not as good. Next time I will go back to her directions to soak overnight. I let this cook over super low heat pretty much all day long. The longer the better, I think, because it gets thick and rich. Next time I will also start with half the salt because after that long cooking, the salt was really concentrated, especially with all that sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe! This was my first time making beans and rice, and it turned out like a charm! Two things I did different, were to use bacon instead of sausage (it was all I had on hand), and I used fresh onion. Hubby absolutely LOVED it, and after we each enjoyed a good helping, I froze the leftovers for future meals (since it's only the two of us at home).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States