Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
awesome seasoning...was in a hurry, boiled, heavy simmer, the beans and seasononings / not w/ the sausage, for 40 minutes...., added to slow cooker w/ browned sausage (andouille) for 6 hours....WOWO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was SO GOOD!!! The flavor combo with all the spices was perfect!! I didn't have enough dried garlic so I used fresh, and thats the only change!!! My ham hock had a ton of meat so I cut back on the sausage some. For newbies, and it's not stated in the recipe, you have to pull your ham hock out near the end and cut off the meat, discard the bones and put the chopped meat back in with the beans. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Finally, a recipe that involves dried beans, just like paw paw used to make. A little lagniappe, whoever gets the bay leaf in their beans has to do the dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great recipe!! I did soak the red beans overnight, and I didn't have a ham hock, but other than that, I made this recipe as written. We all enjoyed this very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Tasty! My only change was to cook up a small onion in place of the dried onion and I did not use smoked sausage just because I didn't have any. Otherwise I followed it to a 'T' and it was good. Maybe could use a little more salt or some hot sauce, but that is a personal preference that can easily be added to this recipe after the fact. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was a good recipe. I think maybe it would have been better if I'd used fresh garlic and onion. This is definitely the best red beans and rice I've fixed, but I can't say I was blown away by it. I was a little worried that all of the seasoning would be a bit much, but it really blended together nicely. Still searching for the perfect red beans and rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
After several failed attempts at cooking dry beans, I achieved success with this recipe (probably more technique than this specific recipe, but I followed these directions exactly). The whole family loved it, which was a nice suprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This dish was relatively simple. I made mine in a crock pot and added sausage and a little bacon rendered for flavor. When I served it to my family they devoured it! I was super impressed because we have a cajun background so I knew I was "competing" with some seriously heavy hitters in the red beans and rice department. Thanks CLFGRL!! Yours rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momo Bakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The spice mix for this is excellent. The beans taste so delicious as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
i don't see the rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States