Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very good! I used fresh garlic, added a little thyme and smoked paprika, and left out the sausage. I smashed some of the beans before serving. The only thing I will change next time is to add some ham or bacon to add a little more meaty-ness to it. I served as a side so I didn't want to add sausage and make it overly meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Finally, a recipe that involves dried beans, just like paw paw used to make. A little lagniappe, whoever gets the bay leaf in their beans has to do the dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was a terrific red beans and rice recipe!! My husband said, "You could win awards with this dinner!" WOW!!!! Thanks so much--and I didn't even need the ham hock; it's delicious with some good andouille sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe is awesome. The first time I made it, the entire family enjoyed it, even those who aren't really bean-eaters. Having lived in Louisiana for a couple of years, I can honestly say this tastes truly Cajun. I'm now making it for the second time, and plan to use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Yum, yum! So good! I wasn't exactly sure how much water because it just said to cover the beans with water. And I also wasn't sure if I should simmer covered or uncovered. 5 hours seemed like a long time uncovered. So, I did the last hour or so covered. It was really thick the next day (after being refrigerated), but I just added a little water before heating up and it was perfect for my taste. But, the taste was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
excellent combination of spices to really pump up the flavor of this traditional dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I expected this to be very good, but it had a bitter aftertaste that I couldn't identify or enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
i don't see the rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This dish was relatively simple. I made mine in a crock pot and added sausage and a little bacon rendered for flavor. When I served it to my family they devoured it! I was super impressed because we have a cajun background so I knew I was "competing" with some seriously heavy hitters in the red beans and rice department. Thanks CLFGRL!! Yours rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momo Bakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Loved this! I've been making red beans and rice for years but have never used the ham hock. Great addition. Will always do that from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States