Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Very tasty! Served 40 guests at a seminar with the food being a Southern theme. I am a California Bay Area girl and have never done Rice and Beans. Thought it might be too spicy, but it was a hit. Cranked up the servings on the recipe to 35. Used pinto beans (personally I don't like red), didn't soak them, used Italian sausage, fresh garlic, diced onion and 1/2 the salt according to the recipe. There were several other bean dishes and tons of other food... there was only 3-4 servings left. Dinner! Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Castro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Absolutely everything I was hoping it would be! Perfect!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is by far the best red beans and rice recipe that I have used. I cooked it exactly as the instructions are written here. If you are looking for the best recipe, look no further this is the one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carthage, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made it for the second time just now. It was wonderful - spices were just perfect in taste, although I did cut the salt by half for health reasons and substituted truvia for sugar. Overdid the andouille sausage first time, plan to only add about half the quantity. Followed the recipe pretty much both times though. However, as Clara Peller once said, "Where's the (beef) RICE?!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I had never cooked it before this recipe came across my screen. After following it to the letter, I have been able to whip it out pretty quick. The only changes I'd do is the bean type, and the sausages i've used. But that's after some experimenting on my part. Otherwise, thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firewolfsblog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow- what a fantastic and easy recipe! I agree that the slow process on the stove is the way to go to make this recipe shine. I used goya small pink beans because that's what I had and I used powdered onion because I didn't have any fresh. Still came out fantastic! I had to add water like 3 times just to cover so they wouldn't dry out while cooking. Very delicious and a bit spicey which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I'm brazilian so I eat this at least twice a week, so I can tell ya that it's better with fresh garlic and onions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe for a great dish. When the senior military officer I work for asked for Red Beans and Rice, it had been a long time since I had prepared it, so I refrenced this version. i still have my position, so I keep using it today. the only change I make is that I use fresh onions and garlic. I have used dry and it's just as tasty. Thanks CLFGRL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Thanks for listing this. I needed to find a good red beans and rice recipe with cumin, and I was pleased to see celery seed listed as well. The proportions of spices are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very good! I used fresh garlic, added a little thyme and smoked paprika, and left out the sausage. I smashed some of the beans before serving. The only thing I will change next time is to add some ham or bacon to add a little more meaty-ness to it. I served as a side so I didn't want to add sausage and make it overly meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States