Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe is a wonderful start! It definitely needs some spices... I added cajun seasoning, garlic powder, and cumin. That made it WONDERFUL. I also used Rotel instead of canned tomatoes and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Tasted more like a chili than red beans and rice after adding the spices. Had to add spice to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Loved it, added cayenne pepper but I think that was a mistake. But other than that awesome dish! Ready to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This recipe is quick and very tasty. You can always change the temp by the sausage you use and the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
this is delicious!! don't forget to add in plenty of Cajun spice if you want that bayou feel to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Tasty. Added 1 heaping teaspoon of cajun seasoning, 1 garlic clove, and about 1C of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winter_rogue
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was great , quick and easy to make. We added seasonings to make it 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winter_rogue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was just ok. I made it to go with my boyfriends jerk chicken, which was really nice and spicy. I needed to add chili powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper to make it taste alright. Also cooked the rice in chicken stock for more flavor. Needed to cook it quite a bit in order to get the beans as soft as we thought they should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was easy to make, fast to cook, and pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Super simple to make, and easy to customize; I like mine spicy so I used hot chili beans in place of the plain kidney beans and chili-ready tomatoes for diced tomatoes. I had basmati rice in my pantry, so served it over that, and it was amazing... if I hadn't already filled up on it at dinner (two servings, yum!) I'd be going for more now. I served this with creole seasoned shrimp, but it would have been fine as a stand-alone meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States