Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
A very nice side dish. I like it best with a tomato/basil feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very nice, a change from the traditional bean salad. I used a couple different kinds of beans. Good right away and later, too... depends if you like your cabbage crunchy or wilted. I used napa cabbage (that's what I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was a great salad. I skipped the lemon juice and used balsamic vinegar instead. The salad got rave reviews. The only thing I would do differently is use less onion. I think the onions I had were particularly strong and it was a bit overpowering. With less onion, it will be perfect. I also used the tomato basil feta which was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
this was totally delicious. i doubled it and used a can each of chickpeas and kidney beans, a yellow pepper, and a red onion. and both parsley and cilantro (it would have been better if they had been fresh, but my dried spices were fine). very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I have to apologize Daylene for totally mangling her recipe. I almost always alter things, but I got really carried away.....I had left over lentils so I threw those in. The feta really thru me for a loop as I always have tomato & cucumber with my feta(so yep I added it). I didn't have parsley, but not sure I needed it anyways, I also did not add the garlic(just didn't feel like chopping it up). The lemon & oil just wasn't doing it for me soooo i added some Kraft sundried tomato & oregano dressing. Anyways it was good & I got my vegies & beans in! I will try this recipe properly next time!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This salad was absolutely delicious! I do not like regular cabbage that much, so I bought something called and asian cabbage, which doesn't have that strong of a taste and is more on the lettuce side. I added some celery for extra crunch and to make it more refreshing. I also used the garlic and herb feta cheese, instead of regular. Even though I forgot to buy parsley for it, it turned out great. I also added a pinch of salt and a little black pepper. I will probably be making this salad once a week for a long time. I ate a whole bowl of it. I think next time I will eat it with grilled chicken or fish for a more complete dinner. This is my new favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Boris Borealis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Overall this was a good recipe but it lacked that oomph that would make it a great recipe. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
awesome. ive never liked beans, but i love them like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very good. I had to find something to serve my vegetarian daughter over the 4th, and she loved this! She said she would add another can of beans to hers just because she likes beans. I thought it tasted pretty good, too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This was pretty good. I don't like cabbage, so I substituted canned corn, which was pretty good. I also used orange and yellow pepper instead of a red pepper, and added ground pepper and balsamic vinegar. Very fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States