Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This salad was absolutely delicious! I do not like regular cabbage that much, so I bought something called and asian cabbage, which doesn't have that strong of a taste and is more on the lettuce side. I added some celery for extra crunch and to make it more refreshing. I also used the garlic and herb feta cheese, instead of regular. Even though I forgot to buy parsley for it, it turned out great. I also added a pinch of salt and a little black pepper. I will probably be making this salad once a week for a long time. I ate a whole bowl of it. I think next time I will eat it with grilled chicken or fish for a more complete dinner. This is my new favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Boris Borealis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Overall this was a good recipe but it lacked that oomph that would make it a great recipe. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
awesome. ive never liked beans, but i love them like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very good. I had to find something to serve my vegetarian daughter over the 4th, and she loved this! She said she would add another can of beans to hers just because she likes beans. I thought it tasted pretty good, too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This was pretty good. I don't like cabbage, so I substituted canned corn, which was pretty good. I also used orange and yellow pepper instead of a red pepper, and added ground pepper and balsamic vinegar. Very fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I used a mixture of orange and yellow peppers, which added nice color to the salad. I also used the basil and tomato feta as suggested by some other reviewers, which added a good dose of flavor. It could have used a bit more bite, in my opinion, but it was really good. Good and crunchy, can be made ahead, and the amount of the recipe is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
The best recipe that I have yet to try from the site. Super quick and very fresh tasting. Also huge portions and low points values makes it an excellent Weight Watchers recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This is fabulous! I didn't have fresh parsley so I used fresh cilantro instead - my favorite. I used Atheno's Feta with Basil and Tomato and it gave it just the right kick. As someone else suggested I also used a little chopped red onion and I added a tablespoon red wine vinegar to the olive oil, garlic and lemon juice mix which I doubled from the original. I used extra cabbage so threw in both the kidney and the garbanzo beans. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN ANN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Great recipe! I made this for a potluck and it was a huge hit! I used red onion instead of green, and it was outstanding! Next time, I am going to add artichoke hearts. Very versatile and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Love the ingredients, but felt this salad needed different cheese (maybe Blue or Gorgonzola) and different dressing (maybe red wine or balsamic vinegar based variety).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States