Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Everyone has loved this one! I usually triple so will use 1 can kidney beans, 1 can garbanzo, 1 can pigeon peas. Also use the cole slaw mix and the most colorful peppers I can find -- yellow, orange and red if available. A very forgiving recipe I find, as I mix ingredients for color and interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yummy....I used cole slaw mix instead of the cabbage, red onion instead of the green, and added some cumin,smoked paprika, and cayenne pepper for more flavor. I loved this salad, I also omitted the cheese for calorie reasons. Loved the beans and the crisp red peppers with the fresh lemon juice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Love kidney beans, love red bell pepper, love cabbage, love feta... did not love the combination. I think a different cheese or a different dressing might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Yum! This is a really good salad, and I'm not a kidney bean fan to begin with. The only single change I made was using dried parsley instead of fresh (it is what I had on hand). I let this one sit over night, and it tasted great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was a very good, easy one-dish meal. I used half white kidney beans (the market was out of red) and half garbanzos, but next time I'll do all garbanzos. The feta and lemon combine for just the right amount of tanginess, and the beans smooth out any bite. This might be good with tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Good bean salad recipe. Would be good served with tzatziki. A couple alterations: tomato and red onion instead of peppers and green onions, no cabbage, added chopped olives, artichoke hearts and a little dried thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
- I forgot the cabbage but it was still good - very easy - added corn and shredded carrots which made it way better - maybe ad greek olives next time - sub garlic powder for garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Not wild about red beans. I would try another bean next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I used cooked red beans instead of canned. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was very good. I used reduced fat feta and fat free Italian dressing instead of the oil and lemon juice. I agree that it was better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States