Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We really enjoyed this salad this summer when we were doing the South Beach diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I have modified this since the first time and still LOVE it!! I use Tomato Basil Feta, Italian Flat Leaf Parsley, and Red onion in place of the listed ingredients. I also add 1 can of white kidney beans and grape tomatoes (whole). If I have it around, I will add some chopped fresh Basil. I do not use the cabbage, but will serve it over lettuce in a wrap or pita. Everybody I have served this to have absolutely loved it. Simple, fast, colorful, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was very flavorful. I used tomato-basil feta instead of the regular feta which gave it the missing flavor other reviewers mentioned. I look forward to sharing this with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is wonderful - way better than the usually musty-tasting and boring bean salads. I used red onion instead of green and didn't have cabbage, it tasted fine. Lots of lemon juice and some ground pepper make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This is excellent! I used a bag of coleslaw mix for the shredded cabbage and enjoyed this for lunch. It is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
A very nice side dish. I like it best with a tomato/basil feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very nice, a change from the traditional bean salad. I used a couple different kinds of beans. Good right away and later, too... depends if you like your cabbage crunchy or wilted. I used napa cabbage (that's what I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was a great salad. I skipped the lemon juice and used balsamic vinegar instead. The salad got rave reviews. The only thing I would do differently is use less onion. I think the onions I had were particularly strong and it was a bit overpowering. With less onion, it will be perfect. I also used the tomato basil feta which was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
this was totally delicious. i doubled it and used a can each of chickpeas and kidney beans, a yellow pepper, and a red onion. and both parsley and cilantro (it would have been better if they had been fresh, but my dried spices were fine). very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I have to apologize Daylene for totally mangling her recipe. I almost always alter things, but I got really carried away.....I had left over lentils so I threw those in. The feta really thru me for a loop as I always have tomato & cucumber with my feta(so yep I added it). I didn't have parsley, but not sure I needed it anyways, I also did not add the garlic(just didn't feel like chopping it up). The lemon & oil just wasn't doing it for me soooo i added some Kraft sundried tomato & oregano dressing. Anyways it was good & I got my vegies & beans in! I will try this recipe properly next time!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States