Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I used yellow bell peppers and added a little spinach and the colors were BEAUTIFUL. I put in garlic and herb feta so I left the fresh garlic out. Definitely add more lemon juice and olive oil and let the salad sit for a while. I've tried this without cabbage (because I dislike it so much) and it still works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinydancer2426

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe for a mixed (vegetarian and no-vegetarian) crowd. With some crusty bread, it is a main course in itself, but it also goes well with any grilled meat. The feta and cabbage make it different than other bean salads. A great shortcut is to use prechopped coleslaw mix insted of chopping your own cabbage. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very good salad - I used red beans and half amount of feta to reduce calories and also fat free italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Absolutely fantastic! I have made this for my steak & potatoes husband and also for a backyard BBQ & it was a HUGE HIT both times! The only thing I did was used garbanzo beans, the tomato & basil feta and I also added a little balsamic vinegar. This is my new default potluck dish, especially in the summer. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I used two cans of beans and forgot the red pepper and it was still very good. My garlic clove was super potent so next time I think I'll use garlic powder instead. Very yummy and healthful. I also used the tomato basil feta as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was better the second day once the flavors had melded! My husband adores it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was really good! I used romaine instead of cabbage, and added fresh basil. Next time I'll add some cherry tomatoes, but it was a really nice filling salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe and very tastey. Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We really enjoyed this salad this summer when we were doing the South Beach diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I have modified this since the first time and still LOVE it!! I use Tomato Basil Feta, Italian Flat Leaf Parsley, and Red onion in place of the listed ingredients. I also add 1 can of white kidney beans and grape tomatoes (whole). If I have it around, I will add some chopped fresh Basil. I do not use the cabbage, but will serve it over lettuce in a wrap or pita. Everybody I have served this to have absolutely loved it. Simple, fast, colorful, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States