Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I used yellow bell peppers and added a little spinach and the colors were BEAUTIFUL. I put in garlic and herb feta so I left the fresh garlic out. Definitely add more lemon juice and olive oil and let the salad sit for a while. I've tried this without cabbage (because I dislike it so much) and it still works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinydancer2426

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe for a mixed (vegetarian and no-vegetarian) crowd. With some crusty bread, it is a main course in itself, but it also goes well with any grilled meat. The feta and cabbage make it different than other bean salads. A great shortcut is to use prechopped coleslaw mix insted of chopping your own cabbage. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very good salad - I used red beans and half amount of feta to reduce calories and also fat free italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Absolutely fantastic! I have made this for my steak & potatoes husband and also for a backyard BBQ & it was a HUGE HIT both times! The only thing I did was used garbanzo beans, the tomato & basil feta and I also added a little balsamic vinegar. This is my new default potluck dish, especially in the summer. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I used two cans of beans and forgot the red pepper and it was still very good. My garlic clove was super potent so next time I think I'll use garlic powder instead. Very yummy and healthful. I also used the tomato basil feta as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was better the second day once the flavors had melded! My husband adores it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was really good! I used romaine instead of cabbage, and added fresh basil. Next time I'll add some cherry tomatoes, but it was a really nice filling salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe and very tastey. Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We really enjoyed this salad this summer when we were doing the South Beach diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I have modified this since the first time and still LOVE it!! I use Tomato Basil Feta, Italian Flat Leaf Parsley, and Red onion in place of the listed ingredients. I also add 1 can of white kidney beans and grape tomatoes (whole). If I have it around, I will add some chopped fresh Basil. I do not use the cabbage, but will serve it over lettuce in a wrap or pita. Everybody I have served this to have absolutely loved it. Simple, fast, colorful, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States