Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
3 stars as written for us. It improved to a 5 star on day two when we added some Italian dressing...made all the difference. Will use 1/2 the feta and Italian dressing(in lieu of oil and lemon) the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Great salad and very adaptable to what you have on hand! I didn't use cabbage as I didn't have it. Used both a red and yellow bell pepper and used a balsamic dressing instead of the lemon (just because I didn't have any lemons and had to improvise). The best part is the feta which I put on top of the salad-it's what makes the salad perfect. I served it over a bed of chopped romaine lettuce and it was fantastic-absolutely delicious; can't wait for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Amazing salad!!! Didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very tasty and easy! The only changes I made based on what I had on hand was to use white onion instead of green onions, green pepper instead of red, and I used only 4 oz. of feta. I would use the recommended amount of feta next time because I love the tanginess of the feta and lemon juice. I also didn't have any parsley, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a favorite of mine! The cabbage makes it a good salad for picnics and BBQ's, as it doesn't wilt easily. I have tried making it several different ways by using a combination of garbonzo and kidney beans, added a clove of minced garlic, and used cilantro instad of parsley with awesome results everytime. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Everyone has loved this one! I usually triple so will use 1 can kidney beans, 1 can garbanzo, 1 can pigeon peas. Also use the cole slaw mix and the most colorful peppers I can find -- yellow, orange and red if available. A very forgiving recipe I find, as I mix ingredients for color and interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yummy....I used cole slaw mix instead of the cabbage, red onion instead of the green, and added some cumin,smoked paprika, and cayenne pepper for more flavor. I loved this salad, I also omitted the cheese for calorie reasons. Loved the beans and the crisp red peppers with the fresh lemon juice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Love kidney beans, love red bell pepper, love cabbage, love feta... did not love the combination. I think a different cheese or a different dressing might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Yum! This is a really good salad, and I'm not a kidney bean fan to begin with. The only single change I made was using dried parsley instead of fresh (it is what I had on hand). I let this one sit over night, and it tasted great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was a very good, easy one-dish meal. I used half white kidney beans (the market was out of red) and half garbanzos, but next time I'll do all garbanzos. The feta and lemon combine for just the right amount of tanginess, and the beans smooth out any bite. This might be good with tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States