Red BBQ Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Awesome BBQ Slaw! Added a little celery seed and liquid smoke just because I like those flavors in my slaw! Had just the right amount of heat and great Carolina flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a great vinegar based slaw! I did it exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This tastes like restaraunt style red slaw! My husband LOVES it. This could not be easier to make. Will never buy it from the store again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Love it one of most asked for and favorite coleslaw recipes. Last year I went to Charlotte NC for my daughters graduation and that is where I first tried red slaw. It was love at first bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yay! Carolina bbq slaw. Like you put on the bbq sandwiches back home in North Carolina!! Very close to home!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marinza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Growing up in Shelby NC, BBQ was a way traditional Christmas dinner. My grandma always made BBQ with all the fixing's. To me, its just not BBQ with out the red slaw. It does seem like an odd combination of flavors but we LOVE it!! It is better if allowed to sit awhile, flavors meld together for a better taste. I have used, store bought, barbecue sauce instead of ketchup, seems to give it kind of a smoke flavor depending on the variety of sauce used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
awesome, so surprised with the results, never had a slaw that wasn't mayo based. I did add some oil. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Six Pack To Go

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I CANNOT WAIT to make it! I lived in NC for about 3 years, and the best slaw I ever had was at a Police Fundraiser in Greensboro. I had never heard of red slaw before, and it looked weird to me, but I love anything that has vinegar in it, so I had to try it. I was completely hooked! Went to the fundraiser for the pulled pork... got seconds of the slaw instead. This sounds amazing... and makes me miss NC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WibblyWobbly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Taste just like what I used to get back home in NC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Being raised in NC I tend to be very picky when it comes to BBQ and slaw, and this was perfect. We add more hot sauce, but that is just our preference. Thanks for sharing this recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States