Red BBQ Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This tastes like restaraunt style red slaw! My husband LOVES it. This could not be easier to make. Will never buy it from the store again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I CANNOT WAIT to make it! I lived in NC for about 3 years, and the best slaw I ever had was at a Police Fundraiser in Greensboro. I had never heard of red slaw before, and it looked weird to me, but I love anything that has vinegar in it, so I had to try it. I was completely hooked! Went to the fundraiser for the pulled pork... got seconds of the slaw instead. This sounds amazing... and makes me miss NC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WibblyWobbly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a great vinegar based slaw! I did it exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Oberhoff Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
awesome, so surprised with the results, never had a slaw that wasn't mayo based. I did add some oil. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Six Pack To Go

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Awesome BBQ Slaw! Added a little celery seed and liquid smoke just because I like those flavors in my slaw! Had just the right amount of heat and great Carolina flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Growing up in Shelby NC, BBQ was a way traditional Christmas dinner. My grandma always made BBQ with all the fixing's. To me, its just not BBQ with out the red slaw. It does seem like an odd combination of flavors but we LOVE it!! It is better if allowed to sit awhile, flavors meld together for a better taste. I have used, store bought, barbecue sauce instead of ketchup, seems to give it kind of a smoke flavor depending on the variety of sauce used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I honestly did not care for this at all. It is easy to make, but the flavors were not appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Exactly the recipe I was searching for! I used a little cayenne pepper and a little of the red pepper flakes. It is really better if you can let it marinate overnight. Thanks for the recipe Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Station, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! I have lived in NC all of my life and have tried many recipes for red BBQ slaw and this is by far the best one. Just make sure you break up the red pepper flakes a little. Once I chop the cabbage in the food processor I add the red pepper flakes and pulse a couple of times. Great recipe Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Yuk....just doesn't do it for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States