Rebel Angels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
It was the hit for the family! I went exactly by recipe and it was very good. Jalapeno I put in was not hot,but sweet. It's a hit or miss with those at store. No need to spend that money at restaurants when you can do it at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made these exactly as the recipe directed, except I had smaller shrimp on hand, so I wrapped two in each piece of bacon. Mine weren't as pretty as those in the picture: They were very dark, so if I were serving them at a party, I'd want to figure out something to make them look a little more appealing. I mixed the spices in a ziplok bag and coated them in the bag and doing it that way may have increased the amount of coating on them, making them darker. These are REALLY spicy!!! The flavor's really good, but the level of heat made it a little hard to eat them. I will cut back on the cayenne pepper next time. I drained the bacon fat out of the skillet before I fried the shrimp in it and I think I'd leave at least some of it in the pan next time to help brown them more evenly & keep them from being too dry. In summary, I really liked the overall flavor of these & think they will be perfect with just a little less "heat."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
We used much much less cayenne and white pepper. And medium shrimp since that's what I had in the freezer. It was soooo good!!!! We will definitely be making this again. Sooo very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Hubs made these tonight - I'm merely the critic! These were knock-out delicious, but I have to think his putting his own spin on them had a lot to do with that. First, he used beautiful, large, meaty shrimp - 13-15 count. These big guys required more than just a third of a slice of bacon, so Hubs didn't cut the bacon until after he partially cooked it in the microwave and saw how long he needed the pieces to be. As for the spices, he cut waaaaaaay back on the pepper and that was definitely to our liking. Finally, he didn't want the muss and fuss of frying them, so he opted to broil them instead. When we make these again, however, we'll make it easy on ourselves and just use a good Cajun seasoning rather than mix all the herbs and spices individually. This would be a fine and proud addition to your holiday appetizer table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was an awesome recipe. Loved the spices, just right. I dipped them in Habanero sauce, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
These are always a huge hit at my annual holiday party. Everyone asks if I am making them every year. Yes if you follow the recipe they are extremly spicy...I cut it the spices in third and have had great success. They are A LOT of work...but well worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Made this for company, and it was a hit. It was spicy, but we like it that way. Bacon pieces were too small to wrap around large shrimp, I would leave them bigger next time. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
The spiciness was good. Very flavorful dish. Only thing I would do is cook the bacon more before wrapping the shrimp. I would cook it in the micro and after wrapping the shrimp finish cooking in the broiler instead of in a fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
a little too spicy, but we toned it down a bit and it was wonderful. Also good done on the BBQ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I made it using the amounts in the recipe, and it was WAY too spicy. They were still pretty good though, and I will definitely try them again using much less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States