Rebecca's Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was very good. I used shallots instead of green onions, and I cooked it in a skillet on the stove top and then transfered it into a baking dish after all ingredients were combined. I also baked it for an hour and a half, based on the other review. It turned out great. I made it with the balsamic pork loin recipe also on allrecipes and they went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I used quick cooking wild rice and short grain brown rice and it was not done in 75 minutes. I let it go about 20 minutes more and the grains were still crunchy but I prefer that over mushy. I am not a fan of wild rice but somehow I ended up with some so I thought I'd give this a try. It was edible but I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made this for Christmas Eve to go with salmon. Everyone loved it. I thought there was a bit too much butter, though. Tonight I am going to try it with chicken broth rather than the consomme (as someone suggested) to go with roast chicken. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Loved this recipe! I used chicken broth instead of beef consomme and had to cook it at least 30 more minutes, adding more chicken broth but it was incredibly good! Fixed it for Thanksgiving and there was very little left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catmiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I have now made this recipe 4 or 5 times. Every time it has been a huge hit!!! I recently visited friends in Florida and made it for a large group. There was not a bite left over! I did add a little extra broth because I like my rice a bit softer. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a big hit! Changed it up by using chicken broth to cook it in the rice cooker & added red & orange peppers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Just ok. The wild rice definitely takes a while to cook. Longer than the recipe indicates. I didn't feel it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Here's a tip for those who had trouble with the wild rice cooking. If you use "cracked" wild rice instead of whole wild rice, it will cook in about the same time as the brown rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great ingredients! Wild Rice is always tricky when it comes to cooking times. You don't want it to be crunchy or like mush so it is best when it just "pops". There is nothing like this great grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States