Really Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Don't confuse it with those fluffy banana breads you're used to. This one has a nice, dense texture and slices and freezes well. It doesn't need nuts, which is nice for a change. I would make this one again. It's perfect for a brunch buffet table, and the kids love it. Tried it with a bit of cinnamon honey and salty butter. That was really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
Oh wow! What a change from the banana breads I'm used to. I could never make toast with other banana breads, but this was so good for breaky with peanut butter. I am taking this to all my pot lucks and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Hooray! This is the banana bread recipe I've been looking for. Moist, with a good banana flavor, no nuts, and a great texture. I tried toasting it, too, and it works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
It sure is different. I always hated those fluffy, dry loaves with lumps of nuts in hotel breakfast buffets. This one isn't like that. It's moist and really good. I tried it with cream cheese like the person who posted it said. That was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
great recipe. easy to slice and good for brunch. tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
this is one of the most delicious banana bread recipes out there. i have made this countless times now- it has been snack at my daughters school,served at a brunch,eaten at a baby shower and makes a tasty breakfast. kids and adults love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I am not much of a baker but this recipe makes me want to try more baking. The bread turned out great and a good snack for my 20 month old. I might add a little white sugar next time. I like sweet things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I only had 2 bananas and 1 1/4 c. butter. I already had an apple pie in the oven at 400 degrees, so it baked at 400 for about 20 minutes and then I turned it down to 325 for the remaining hour. I turned out really good. I usually get frustrated b/c bread usually doesn't get done in the middle without the outside burning. This came out almost perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Unionville Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mechanicsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This bread is really very very good. Totally YUMMY! In fact, I will probably call this my all time favorite banana bread! The texture is more fine than most quick breads. In fact, this has more of a light muffin quality about it. It also reminds me of pound cake. Light and refreshing. It makes this more of a spring bread than heavy fall or winter quick bread. Very pleasant indeed! I did do a couple things different. I used 5 eggs and 4 bananas. I'm trying to get rid of 2 bunches. I used cinnamon in place of nutmeg too. And I threw in a handful of raisins. I would also recommend you watch the baking time. Check yours at 70 minutes to be sure. Mine was a little over baked at 80. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I thought it was very tasty. Not drastically different from other banana breads but a bit heavier. It was very moist and had good flavor. I will probably make it again but I wouldn't say it's the only banana bread recipe I'll use from now on because it uses so many eggs. It's good though. It did not take 90 minutes to bake. It was more like 60. And I turned down the oven to 325 part way through because it was getting so dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States