Really Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions to the letter. The texture was not heavy (or "rich") like I thought it would be, and actually turned out lighter than other recipes I made (from this site) the same day. I was also not fond of the prominent egg flavor, and the bread was not as sweet as other banana bread recipes I've tried. If you do opt to try this recipe, watch the baking time closely-- mine took no where near 90 minutes to bake. The ingredient list made me think this would be a great bread, but it is not a recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Don't confuse it with those fluffy banana breads you're used to. This one has a nice, dense texture and slices and freezes well. It doesn't need nuts, which is nice for a change. I would make this one again. It's perfect for a brunch buffet table, and the kids love it. Tried it with a bit of cinnamon honey and salty butter. That was really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
Oh wow! What a change from the banana breads I'm used to. I could never make toast with other banana breads, but this was so good for breaky with peanut butter. I am taking this to all my pot lucks and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Hooray! This is the banana bread recipe I've been looking for. Moist, with a good banana flavor, no nuts, and a great texture. I tried toasting it, too, and it works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This bread is really very very good. Totally YUMMY! In fact, I will probably call this my all time favorite banana bread! The texture is more fine than most quick breads. In fact, this has more of a light muffin quality about it. It also reminds me of pound cake. Light and refreshing. It makes this more of a spring bread than heavy fall or winter quick bread. Very pleasant indeed! I did do a couple things different. I used 5 eggs and 4 bananas. I'm trying to get rid of 2 bunches. I used cinnamon in place of nutmeg too. And I threw in a handful of raisins. I would also recommend you watch the baking time. Check yours at 70 minutes to be sure. Mine was a little over baked at 80. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
It sure is different. I always hated those fluffy, dry loaves with lumps of nuts in hotel breakfast buffets. This one isn't like that. It's moist and really good. I tried it with cream cheese like the person who posted it said. That was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Way too egg-y bread. The texture and taste were very disappointing. I would not recommend this or make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I accidentally overbaked this bread, so although I thought it was quite good and everyone liked it, I'm going to have to make it again to give it a good trial. I think perhaps it has one egg too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I am not much of a baker but this recipe makes me want to try more baking. The bread turned out great and a good snack for my 20 month old. I might add a little white sugar next time. I like sweet things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
this is one of the most delicious banana bread recipes out there. i have made this countless times now- it has been snack at my daughters school,served at a brunch,eaten at a baby shower and makes a tasty breakfast. kids and adults love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States