Really Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I'm so sorry to provide a poor rating for this bread. I love banana bread and have been looking for a "decadent" and "rich" banana bread. This one doesn't live up to the claim. I made it specifically to the recipe provided. While I read the reviews I thought that with the ingredients listed it had to be a wonderful bread. I now understand the "eggy" comment. I agree. I would also have added some while sugar. Unfortunately my result was so poor I won't be making this again. I hate to lose 6 eggs and a ton of butter. I'll just keep looking for the holy grail of banana bread. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
this was AMAZING! it had such a rich and moist taste... i added some walnuts too, to add a tasty crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice
Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good - extremely moist! I thought it had too much banana taste - next time I will use less bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Owens Dorrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I liked the moist consistancy of this recipe but I agree with other posters that this recipe has one too many eggs. I also cut the ammount of fat by 1/2 cup to give it a slightly lighter texture. I will definitely make this one agian, but will most likely fidget with the quantities of some of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ether engineer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is a nice basic banana bread, with a little richer taste. I followed the recipe exact. This made two loaves that were a bit on the small side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I really did not care for this at all. It is a very firm bread and the egg flavor is overwhelming. My kids do not care for this either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I thought it was very tasty. Not drastically different from other banana breads but a bit heavier. It was very moist and had good flavor. I will probably make it again but I wouldn't say it's the only banana bread recipe I'll use from now on because it uses so many eggs. It's good though. It did not take 90 minutes to bake. It was more like 60. And I turned down the oven to 325 part way through because it was getting so dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This bread is really very very good. Totally YUMMY! In fact, I will probably call this my all time favorite banana bread! The texture is more fine than most quick breads. In fact, this has more of a light muffin quality about it. It also reminds me of pound cake. Light and refreshing. It makes this more of a spring bread than heavy fall or winter quick bread. Very pleasant indeed! I did do a couple things different. I used 5 eggs and 4 bananas. I'm trying to get rid of 2 bunches. I used cinnamon in place of nutmeg too. And I threw in a handful of raisins. I would also recommend you watch the baking time. Check yours at 70 minutes to be sure. Mine was a little over baked at 80. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I only had 2 bananas and 1 1/4 c. butter. I already had an apple pie in the oven at 400 degrees, so it baked at 400 for about 20 minutes and then I turned it down to 325 for the remaining hour. I turned out really good. I usually get frustrated b/c bread usually doesn't get done in the middle without the outside burning. This came out almost perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Unionville Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mechanicsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
We didn't care for this recipe. It was really dense and gummy with all those eggs. The eggs also masked a lot of the banana flavor. I was hopeful because we raise chickens and I'm always on the lookout for recipes that use up a lot of eggs, but this isn't one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States