Really Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I have made this banana bread several times - it's become my recipe of choice! Based on the other comments about it tasting too eggy, I tend to use 4 eggs instead of 6. I also use a pinch each of ginger, cinnamon and cloves instead of allspice, and throw in a teaspoon of maple syrup. Also, I use bananas that are on the fermented-overripe-almost gone bad side. It comes out deliciously sweet and buttery - stands up to toasting really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
There was not enough not enough leavening, it really needed some baking soda. Too much egg & not enough sugar or spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I love it. It should have a 5 star rating. I have been ask how i made it. Everyone wants the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hony E Dip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Wow! Super moist and a toasty- banana bread taste I love it. Didn't have to cook as long and followed the process exact. It's different from my usual very basic ingredients for BB w/ all the eggs and adding the vanilla & mashed banana's last. I love baking BB and have tried many recipes but, this one is a winner for me. Agree w/ the cream cheese on top and when it cools, I will try toasting as some others did. Thank you MB:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is a good starting receipe. If you like to doctor things up then, start with this. I didn't measure my banana, I just used 3 and then some peanut butter and cinnamon. I think it could use some vanilla or almond extract. I might even try a little brown sugar next time. All in all the receipe is a good starter, and very easy to make your own. I would never make this bread to the written receipe though, I think it would be a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
makes great toast and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Good recipe. Very dense, not the "cakey" recipes that I usually make. 90 minutes is WAAAAYYY too long. Check at 60. I did 70 minutes, and that was a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
i thought it was very good will make again might tweak it a bit but great starting point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I don't get the reviews complaining that this is rich. It says so right in the recipe title. It's RICH. What did you expect? And it does make great toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This bread doesn't taste bad, however I felt as though I was eating pure grease and clogging my arteries so much that I didn't enjoy it. Sometimes the flavor is worth the "clogging artery" feeling, this one . . . not so much. It is good banana bread, but not one your friends will beg you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States