Really Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
pretty good. Agree with a user above about 5 eggs instead of 6. I also upped the banana's and chose to cut down a bit of the butter, and add a bit of cinnamon too. Def. only 60-70 minutes, even at 70 minutes my crust was a bit crunchier than I prefer, but that could be my oven or pan I used as well. I think next time I will also add some chocolate chips for fun! Overall pretty good! I will make again and continue to tweek for my family's personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
The best bread ever! I've shared this recipe with several people after I have made it for them and they feel the same way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is now the only recipe I use. I did add one more banana. Watch the cook time. I turn the heat down slightly toward the end and add a few minutes watching carefully. Check doneness with a knife in the middle coming out clean. I like a piece warm from the oven but it's better the next day after it sits. I also make muffins using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Fantastic and moist! I added 1/2 cup chocolate chunks and 1 6oz package of instant vanilla pudding. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was not dense at all. Followed it to the letter. Took maybe 50 minutes to bake and it still burnt. Had I left it in the full 90 minutes I would have had bricks that had no banana flavor. A total waste of a dozen eggs seeing as I made a double batch. Will need to try a different recipe that calls for alot more bananas and add nutmeg and allspice. That part was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is a great banana bread recipe. I did add walnuts, but that was it! I did not find it too eggy as some other reviewers. I did use applesauce and only a little oil/ butter. I made this for my 89 grandmother- my own Mama B, and didn't even have but one super ripe banana- it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
made recipe exactly as written. not enough banana for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I enjoyed this being different from traditional banana bread - very filling and not so sweet. 4 stars overall but 5 when toasted - delicious! Great with butter or peanut butter (or cream cheese frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States