Really GOOD Frosting!!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe! I used 1/4 cup of milk, but ended up adding a little more powdered sugar at the end because the vanilla changed the consistency drastically! Beware; this frosting is MAJORLY sugary, so don't have too much before you try to fall asleep! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The recipe as written was too runny for me. I reduced the milk to 1/4 cup. It is delicious and is easy to half to frost 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Professional! I halfed the recipe and icied 18 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I did not like this recipe. It tastes like powdered sugar. I was looking for a recipe that took less time than the one that I normally use but this was not it. I had to make a lot of changes such as heating it, adding lemon juice and more milk, pouring and then refrigerating it. Maybe it is good for cookies but it was not right for my petit fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
THIS WAS A VERY TASTY FROSTING . I made a triple batch and broke it into 4 bowlsflavored each batch I used almond anis orange zest and Juice as well as anis I also used cream instead of milkIt gives the frosting a wonderful mouth feel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this with a purchased white cake. Frosting iced a 9" layer cake. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
not bad. i added a dash of salt for softening the sweetness. i also used heavy cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this with cupcakes and it was delicious! Just make sure the butter is very soft or it can be lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good and very easy. For cupcakes, I didn't come close to using all the milk in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used this frosting to pipe onto cupcakes, so I only used enough milk to get it to the consistency I wanted for that. I found this on the high range of sweetness with 4 cups of powdered sugar, and for my liking 1 T. of vanilla was about three times more than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States