Really Easy Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a great starting point but I spiced this recipe up a little. I added chopped onion and zucchini. Also, garlic and Italian seasoning and I filled the can of diced tomatoes with water and added that. If you like spice, I added some hot sauce and red pepper flake. I think adding more veggies makes it heartier and more filling. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe truly was easy and very tasty! I took the advice of the others and added some garlic powder and instead of the celery I put in onions (I just don't personally care for cooked celery). I would make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe! I added zucchini, italian seasoning, garlic powder and a small can of hunts tomato sauce plus I used tilapia instead of cod and it was delicious. I liked that it was simple to make and healthy. I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
What's great about this recipe is that it gives you a real versatile base of a chowder. If you follow another reviewer's suggestion and add to a can of tomatos a can of water, and then a small can of tomato sauce, you have a perfect beginning of a soup. I add a dash of Sriracha hot Chili sause to give it a kick. I also omit the celery (personal preference) and add sauteed chopped onion. Then add whatever vegetables you have on hand. So far I have made it with califlower and beans (which results in a summery take on a chowder) and with zuchinni and squash. I imagine it'll do well with potatoes and other wintry vegetables, so I am planning on making it again and again. And the best thing is that it is SO fast to make - the only time you spend on this is opening the cans and chopping up the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
yummy, cozy and extremely quick and easy. I didn't have time to go out and buy celery, so I substituted with a few boiled potatoes, and then mashed the whole thing up with a wandmixer thing, and it turned out hearty and thick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This gets five stars for simplicity, healthiness, and the ability to customize (great soup for losing weight, yet still getting healthy fat and protien). I added dry red wine, canned clams and oysters, and onions and garlic sauteed in a bit of oil. I also think potatoes could go well. Once, I also used a bit of old bay with a touch of celery seed because I didn't have celery on hand. Thanks for such an easy, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This lacked something! I added a can of tomato soup, a can of water, 1/2 lb shrimp and 4 healthy shots of Tabasco sauce. Helped quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very quick and good! I added a little garlic salt and a few dashes of hot sauce. I also used Pollack fillets instead of Cod only because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe was just a good idea. I also sauteed onion, celery and garlic in olive oil with a little salt, pepper, and old bay. Seasoned in layers and threw in a few red pepper flakes towared the end an was perfect with flounder instead of cod. Next time, I may deglaze with a little white wine before adding the tomatoes or throw in a bay leaf or something. It's kind of funny that people complained it was bland with a last name like McCormick! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheldyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Easy and delicious. I sauteed an onion and the celery with a little garlic in olive oil first - then added the staple ingredients. Served with crusty warm bread - wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States