Really Easy Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very tasty and easy. I added some onion and garlic and ended up using talapia just because I had it handy. I'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This gets five stars for simplicity, healthiness, and the ability to customize (great soup for losing weight, yet still getting healthy fat and protien). I added dry red wine, canned clams and oysters, and onions and garlic sauteed in a bit of oil. I also think potatoes could go well. Once, I also used a bit of old bay with a touch of celery seed because I didn't have celery on hand. Thanks for such an easy, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Really surprisingly good! Per the suggestion, I sauted the onion and garlic and deglazed with wine (red). Also, I added the soup can of water. Added the hot sauce and pepper flakes. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
What's great about this recipe is that it gives you a real versatile base of a chowder. If you follow another reviewer's suggestion and add to a can of tomatos a can of water, and then a small can of tomato sauce, you have a perfect beginning of a soup. I add a dash of Sriracha hot Chili sause to give it a kick. I also omit the celery (personal preference) and add sauteed chopped onion. Then add whatever vegetables you have on hand. So far I have made it with califlower and beans (which results in a summery take on a chowder) and with zuchinni and squash. I imagine it'll do well with potatoes and other wintry vegetables, so I am planning on making it again and again. And the best thing is that it is SO fast to make - the only time you spend on this is opening the cans and chopping up the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was just okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
i followed some previous suggestions - added onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes. i appreciate low fat, but this as written has no fat, and i was missing some, so i added butter. for me that made a big difference. a good, inexpensive and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This lacked something! I added a can of tomato soup, a can of water, 1/2 lb shrimp and 4 healthy shots of Tabasco sauce. Helped quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Definitely easy and delicious to make. I sometimes alter it by adding 32 oz. chicken broth, add chicken breast chopped up into small cube size and add a can of corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a good base for a soup, but I had to add additional seasonings and vegetables because it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very good recipe. I switch out some of the celery with zucchini as I am not a big fan of celery. That's the only reason for less than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States