Really Easy Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
By the time I was done with this recipe there wasn't one ingredient I didn't change. I used dinner rolls instead of bread for a sweeter flavour. Sauteed onions and garlic in a good amount of butter. Dropped the water altogether. Added chopped frozen cranberries. Spices...sage, celery salt, a bit of cinnamon, a bit of curry powder, dash of rosemary, tiny amount of bay leaves. The result is a sweeter than spicy combination but with a touch of both. At the very least, I say use the butter instead of the water and cook the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This just didn't do it for me. It was very dry even with extra broth. Not sure what I did wrong. I'll stick to stove top until I find the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
it was easy, but not enough flavor for me. Also, the recipe does not say what temp to bake it on...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRG2006

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is close to mine . I saute my onions , use fresh bread & lots of sage (no celery ,one child won't touch it!)definately (warm) broth instead of water AND I use 2 eggs for the first loaf ,& add 1 egg/each additional loaf of bread . I use lots of broth & cover the pan til nearly done since my family prefers a very moist dressing . This year for the first time in 30 yrs. I plan to change it by adding chopped apple ...as long as no one tells them , lol !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I was really nervous about making stuffing from scratch...I was convinced I would somehow mess it up and ruin my first thanksgiving meal. Luckily I found this recipe and it turned out amazing! Next year I'll try adding some fun stuff for some variation but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This stuffing didn't live 5 minutes in our family of 3! I made it to go with a pork roast. I followed suggestions and sauteed celery and onion in 1/4 c. butter and tossed that with the bread to moisten, instead of water. I also added an entire apple, peeled, cored and sliced. I baked it in a casserole dish for an hour and it was a perfect complement to the pork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I love this recipe! As is, it's perfectly moist and very tasty. And it's so versatile you can add anything to it and it's still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky C

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is a good base for easy stuffing. I made the following changes and the stuffing came out great! I used one onion, 2 celery stalks & 8 oz. mushrooms sauteed in 1 stick of butter. One chopped, peeled apple and 1 cup chicken broth. 1 tsp. poultry seasoning. Baked covered @ 350 for one hour. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is a good base recipe that can be made into whatever you please. I used chicken broth instead of water, added some celery and garlic, and used pumpernickle bread with white bread. It turned out really well with the changes, but I think it would have been a little bland without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a good basic and versatile recipe. I added sliced mushrooms, and some very finely chopped walnuts and celery. If I were to make it again, I would probably use chicken broth instead of water for extra flavor. Thanks, Katie! And a belated Merry Christmas to the Allrecipes crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States