Real Wisconsin Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is not the proper batter for WI curds. Just tried it after reading reviews and instructions to a t. batter is far too thin. will not allow a deep fry application. (It's a BIG BIG mess) and cheese leaks out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aven Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angeljeng82
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was my first attempt at making this dish so I worked slowly. I added a dash of black pepper for taste. My first batch all looked " deflated" but tasted good. On a whim, I added one more step before frying: roll in breadcrumbs. This gave them a finish more like fried mozzarella or hush puppies and also prevented the cheese from overcooking and deflating. I love them like this but realize this may break tradition too much for hard core curders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Are the people having trouble with the recipe using cheese or cheese curds? I did not know there was a difference I thought it was the repie name but there is a difference. Looking forward to ordering some real cheddar cheese curds then trying this recipe. We had them for the first time at wild wings and fell in love but they are expensive at the restaurant. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ldiana Tisdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These were amazing...made just as the recipe said and they turned out perfectly! The kids ate them as fast as I could make them!. Initially when the curds were put in the fryer they would stick to the bottom. But I stirred them and that helped! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My sister and I made these and they were sooooo good! I did add some garlic powder, paprika, season salt and pepper to the batter and we froze the curds overnight. Oh and we didn't use beer because we didn't have any, we club soda instead. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Outstanding! I'm from Wisconsin so was able to pick up fresh farmer's market cheese curds. Followed the recipe exactly as written. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very good recipe. I had no problem with the batter sticking on, or cheese oozing out and I didn't do anything other than what the recipe said. Used sunflower oil and a pan on the stove so I had complete control over oil temperature, maybe that helped. Agree that it could use a little more taste--maybe some dill or something else, it doesn't need to be spicy necessarily. Everyone still liked them, but I felt it just needed a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Perfection, made these for my fried cheese curd skeptic mother and she loved them. I'm from Iowa so I used Hansen's (a well known Iowa Dairy farm) white cheese curd's and they were delicious. We will definitely be having these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I live 10 minutes from Wisconsin and we have the best deep fried cheese curds the world at the Minnesota State Fair. I thought these were delicious. The batter is nice and light and coats really well. I used a Hefeweitzen beer. Yum! I used Ellsworth Cheese Curds, made in WI and they are really good! If you do not have an electric deep fryer, invest in an instant-read digital thermometer so you can keep your oil temperature correct. Too hot or too cool and your curds will not fry well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I tried fried cheese curds like a month ago for the first time at a local fair in Florida. I love cheese n have tried cheese curds but not fried omg I'm in haven with this recipe it turned out perfect. I ordered cheese curds from Wisconsin :-) paid more for the shipping than the actual cheese but it was worth it. The curds came out perfectly nothing sticked to the pan just Perfect. Flavorful way better than the one at the fair. Thank u for this awesome quick recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States