Real Welsh Rarebit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was a great way to use up some leftover shredded and chunks of cheese for a tasty bite when you want something gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is the best Welsh Rarebit recipe I have ever tried! I also add a few grains of cayenne pepper for a little extra kick. We have it for Saturday night dinners often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwnurse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My husband was pleasantly surprised. Super dinner for a snowy evening. Different beers and different cheeses would really change the flavor......also added a few bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very easy and very good. I left out the beer because one of my family members doesn't like it at all. Per author, used a bit more milk instead. Had this before, but it had been many years. Tasted just as I remembered it. I served it on toasted English muffins with a slice of fresh tomato, and topped with the rarebit. YUM!!! Fresh fruit salad as our side dish. Perfect dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
My grandmother made this for me and I find myself "craving" it every so often. This version worked well and enjoyed every bite with the traditional soda cracker. It doesn't "reheat" well (no rarebit does), so plan on having a friend or two over to enjoy such a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYoung0822

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I love this with hard boiled eggs split in half on toast. I also double the Worcestershire sauce to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This cheese sauce is very good by itself, but when I served it with dark rye bread, ham and scrambled eggs arranged like eggs benedict--it was BOMB! I used an amber beer, and my husband loved the bitter almost tangy taste it imparted in the sauce. I used colby-jack cheese because that's what I had, but almost any cheese would work. It was very fondue like. Felt decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very good - but having grown up close to Wales, I remembered it a bit differently. So I cooked 1/2 a finely chopped onion in the butter until transparent first, then followed the recipe as written. I'd advise using aged white cheddar too, it adds more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Not bad, even with margarine, light cheese and skim milk. Definitely would have been better with butter and good cheese. Kind of like cheese fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I love this recipe, reminds me of the Welsh Rarebit my grandmother would make. I like to serve on toasted english muffin with a slice of canadian bacon and broccoli spears and cover with the Welsh Rarebit sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States