Real Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This delicious soda bread was exactly what I was searching for...very simple and authentic. Everyone from age 2 to 70 loved it! Consistency was perfect even when I increased the recipe size to serve 6. The only problem I had was my fault--I put the flour in my stainless pan too early and it burned a little. I might try to bake it in my stoneware next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is what I was looking for and remember from my days of visiting Ireland. It's very basic as that's how much of Ireland's food was for so many years. Like another reviewer, I was reluctant to make this bread stovetop, as I have never made bread that way. I was pleasantly surprised with both batches I made--the 1st I had forgotten to add the baking soda due to being distracted by my young son. No worries though, all have enjoyed in our home. I topped them with a little irish imported butter this time, but I think I'll try them with jam or apple butter or something else I find yummy to go with. Super simple and really doesn't take long. Made this to go with the "corned beef & cabbage I" from this site to celebrate St Patty's day. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this for my brother's traditional Irish boiled dinner and it turned out about how I thought. It's rather plain but would be great with jelly or some other spread on it. My only complaint was how sticky the dough was as I was trying to knead it. I had to add a LOT of flour and work with it more than I would have liked because I was afraid of making the dough tough. It could have been because I didn't have buttermilk so made sour milk instead, but I've never had any problems substituting that in a recipe before. Overall, it was a decent bread and I really liked cooking it on the stove top since I've never done that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJames

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
i just made this recipe this morning and it is wonderful - a true irish soda bread ... a simple basic recipe (that can in fact be easily amended to include any americanized or modern variation of your liking) ... i did bake it in the oven whole, cutting a cross on its top, 30 minutes at 350 preheated degrees ... it has a really great flavor and texture, good alone or great with whatever accompaniment you like (butter, cream, honey, sweet sauces, savory sauces) ... given its ease and taste you should never buy this from a super chain commercial homogenized grocery store - ever ... thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great recipe. Simple and quick. I did baste it with melted butter every few minutes and then when done. I cooked it on a pizza stone as well. The boys loved it nice thick dense bread. Good for a winter's day with soup. Or on St. Patty's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is the way I have been making it for years and it always comes out perfect! It was passed down to me and I passed it down to my children and my grandchildren too. For the kids I do put in some raisin for theirs. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Not much taste. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Don't know what I did wrong, but I measured exactly and got a big lump of dough that was too runny to be formed. Added another cup and then simply dumped the whole batch into the cast iron fry pan. yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiningstar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This, is traditional Irish Soda Bread. Just like mums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States