Real Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
i used whole wheat flour, and it turned out great. quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
absolutely perfect! i wouldn't change a thing. it's a great base for anything else you might want to to to it once cooked. jam. butter. anything! super easy too... i made it for breakfast in literally 30 minutes! :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Love this! Perfect for camping since it requires so few ingredients. Just make sure your cast iron pan is impeccably clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweettea
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very nice! I added my picture with the fish plate above. I like these with whole milk yoghurt and jam. Yummy. They are very like Scottish baps, very simple to make and with a plain but good taste. I can definitely see making these very often. I initially made some too thick and had to finish the cooking in the oven, and used a think steel pan to cook them. I would think a thick cast iron skillet would be better for holding the heat more evenly. Very delicious and fun and quick to make and I also appreciate not having the sweetness or the 'American-ized' version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is very delicious. I made no changes, and would make exactly the same again, which i plan to do very soon. Everyone in my family liked it also. I liked the fact that it was very moist, although I covered it while it was still warm to make sure that it stayed moist and also softened the crust somewhat, since that was what I was looking for that particular day... This bread would be wonderful toasted for breakfast with jam, but ours did not make it long enough for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I've never made soda bread before so this was my first. I actually baked this rather than fry it. I'll try frying it next time. But I think either way is fine because this bread is delicious. It doesn't need to be americanized by adding sugar. It's fantastic the way it is. It's traditional Irish bread and wonderful. I'll be making this again and very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Wonderful flavor and texture for such a simple recipe. I've tried several Irish soda bread recipes and this has trumped them all. I did not have actual buttermilk so I used the old milk with vinegar trick. I always feel like I'm cheating when I do that. *laugh* One note: I followed the instructions to add some flour to the cast iron griddle. I found this not only unnecessary, but rather unpleasant. The flour burns which is unsightly and doesn't taste very good. After the first batch I wiped my pan clean, wiped it lightly with oil and much preferred those results. My pan is seasoned enough that it's probably fine without doing any of that so I will skip it altogether in the future. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
OMG a REAL soda bread recipe! I bake mine in the oven though. Make sure to put a cross on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish506

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Thank you so much for posting the un-Americanized version of soda bread. I'd been trying to find a real recipe for several days and managed to stumble upon this one. Such a relief!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by publicprivacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
finally, someone actually knows trad Irish bread does NOT contain raisins or caraway or butter, perfect recipe, though I do 1 cup white unbleached flour, 1 cup brown flour, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States