Real Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was very good and easy to make. I made it exactly according to directions and it turned out wonderful. I was a little skeptical using a "skilllet" to bake it in, but it turned out perfect. Delicious served with butter and jam. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I know everyone's saying "oh, it's so REAL", but I can tell you that it's not what my gran makes. When I asked her why mine came out so plain, she said "We can afford eggs & butter now that the Famine is over" and gave me her recipe- so thanks! If you like your soda bread plain, that's fine. I notice all the reviewers that say they love soda bread without fruit or butter in it, go on to tell us about all the fruit and butter they put on TOP of it while eating! I'm just cutting out the middleman, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I chose this recipe over others offered on this site b/c it contained no sugar or fruit. I made two mini round loaves and baked them off in the oven b/c I don't yet own a cast iron skillet. The bread that came out was dense, by oh my gosh was it satisfying! Breaking off pieces from the and watching butter melt just before popping it into the mouth--was heavenly! The loaves freeze well too; we just took out a few slices and topped with butter and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I am really happy I tried this recipe for 2 reasons... 1) multiple reviewers state it is authentic Irish and 2) I've never used the cooking method before. I followed the instructions to the letter. (photo contributors to date could not have - recipe is for quartered circle) It was good, but flavorless. I think I need an Irishman to tell me what topping to use, as this bread is analogous to water crackers -- whatever goes on it will shine. We tried butter & honey which, while tasty, didn't seem like the right match. I won't be making this again for a family dinner, but I will keep it in mind as THE perfect choice for a thematic party or school event for "pioneer days".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written (except for the flour in the pan, as I have a lovely seasoned cast iron fry pan) and the bread was delicious. I will be using this recipe when the hubby wants biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I have tried this recipe but have been cooking it in the oven for about 1/2 hour at 350. I sprinkle the cooking sheet with flour and put it in the oven as it is warming up so it is hot by the time I am ready to put the bread in the oven. It is wonderful...does not need sugar...needs nothing. I will get a heavy skillet just so I can try it on stove top. It is perfect! I love that there is minimal ingredients and has such full taste. I added caramelized onions for a change up. If you can add raisins and currents why not onions? Tastes great but then you cannot have leftovers with jam in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My husband loved this recipe! I've tried the 'other' recipe for easy soda bread and it was good but It isn't traditional. Real soda bread has no sweetness or eggs in it. This was easy and quick. I don'thave a heavy pan so i just lightly greased a roasting tray and popped it in a 175°C oven for 25-30 minutes. We ate it warm with a lovely Guinness stew. Looking forward to toasting up the rest with jam for breakfast tomorrow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Perfect. Traditional. No fuss, no embellishments. Makes Grandma proud. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I'm told I'm part Irish, but I don't have an Irish granny who passed down recipes. It was fun to give this a try to see what my ancestors might have eaten. I was surprised it was so good for so few ingredients. I had only a small iron skillet handy, so I halved the recipe, and I used powdered buttermilk. Seemed to turn out fine, although next time I'll press out my dough a little thinner - I had it too thick. Another reviewer mentioned the flour in the pan and the trouble with it burning. I agree, even though it might be the authentic approach. Like her, I'll rely on the seasoning of my pan or perhaps a slight bit of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I added a bit more flour because mine was beyond sticky. Baked mine on a cookie sheet at 350 for about 30 min. Will make again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States