Real Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was a bit uncertain about this recipe, even while it was baking. I had never baked a bread on the stove top. Well, I followed the recipe exactly. I did need to add a lot of flour to the surface. The dough was a bit too moist for kneading. However, it turned out really well, and it was very easy to make. It's definitely a classic. Variations in the future may include currants or maybe some whole grain alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
finally, someone actually knows trad Irish bread does NOT contain raisins or caraway or butter, perfect recipe, though I do 1 cup white unbleached flour, 1 cup brown flour, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Wonderful flavor and texture for such a simple recipe. I've tried several Irish soda bread recipes and this has trumped them all. I did not have actual buttermilk so I used the old milk with vinegar trick. I always feel like I'm cheating when I do that. *laugh* One note: I followed the instructions to add some flour to the cast iron griddle. I found this not only unnecessary, but rather unpleasant. The flour burns which is unsightly and doesn't taste very good. After the first batch I wiped my pan clean, wiped it lightly with oil and much preferred those results. My pan is seasoned enough that it's probably fine without doing any of that so I will skip it altogether in the future. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Thank you so much for posting the un-Americanized version of soda bread. I'd been trying to find a real recipe for several days and managed to stumble upon this one. Such a relief!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by publicprivacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Wow! Got rave reviews for this one. I added a tsp of Splenda brown sugar for sweetness. I used a george Forman grilling machine with the pizza plate in and cooked it on medium for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is very delicious. I made no changes, and would make exactly the same again, which i plan to do very soon. Everyone in my family liked it also. I liked the fact that it was very moist, although I covered it while it was still warm to make sure that it stayed moist and also softened the crust somewhat, since that was what I was looking for that particular day... This bread would be wonderful toasted for breakfast with jam, but ours did not make it long enough for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
OMG a REAL soda bread recipe! I bake mine in the oven though. Make sure to put a cross on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish506

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is very simple to make. It's a fine bread, maybe something to go good with a soup or something like that. I just found it very plain. I used some honey butter and that was a good addition, but on its own I found it rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was a good recipe. I didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Love this! Perfect for camping since it requires so few ingredients. Just make sure your cast iron pan is impeccably clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States