Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I'm from Texas and I have been making this chili for a while. This is our favorite chili. Sometimes when my kids have friends over and I need to stretch this recipe I like to add a can of diced tomatoes and a can of drained pinto beans. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe is awesome! My husband and I don't know how to cook and this was a hugggge hit at our get-together with friends! We followed the recipe to a T...I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
We loved this recipe. I only used 1 can broth because we like thick chili. I added hot sauce because we like things really spicy. Friends are already requesting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I really enjoyed the flavor of this chili. I've been looking for quite some time for a chili with lots of meat and no beans. It reminds me of the chili I had as a child. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This recipe had a good flavor, but it's really meaty. Maybe I didn't cut the meat chunks small enough, but I'm not sure that I'll try this one again. It might be good to try with some ground meat, although I found that the sauce gets pretty thick after it sit in the fridge all night. All in all, it's not too bad... but I hope you're hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Very good standard Texas chili recipe. I like to pour it over pinto beans that I have prepared separately. Sometimes, I serve rice on the side. Cornbread also goes well with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I'm new to this kind of chili, but it was good! Next time I will try it with some beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This is a good Texas style chili recipe. I added 2 cans of pinto beans. In the future I think I'll use hamburger instead of the chuck. My family didn't think it was too spicy and they don't like spicy food very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States