Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I was a little hesitant to eat this chili once it was done...I'm used to red chili and it didn't look very good, but it was sooo good! I went back for seconds and my boyfriend loved it! For my second helping I added shredded cheese and sour cream and it was even better! I am on a low carb diet and it was a good alternative to my beloved chili. Thanks so much for this recipe, I am sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
My husband loved this. He topped it with cheese. I think it would be good over rice and topped with cheese. He's on a low carb diet so not rice for him. I'm not sure if I did something wrong but it didn't seem very soupy; more like tender meat in a gravy. We liked it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Absolutely fabulous plus I made it in the crock pot! My new favorite chili. I didn't measure ingredients but added them to suit my taste buds. I served it side by side with rice pilaf and cowboy beans (pinto beans w/ fresh roasted anaheim chilis, add to sauteed onion and bacon ) in a large flat bowl. Everyone was very pleased including myself! Thanks!!! Would be good with a dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I have been looking all over for an all beef, no bean chili that tastes like "Ike's Chili", an old restaurant in Tulsa. They won't give me theirs, but this one has to be it because it tastes the same - float a little vinegar on top and go to town. One caution though...this recipe takes longer to cook than indicated. I slow cook mine for about 4 hours and add a cup of red wine after about 3 hours. Then I use a mixer to shred the remaining beef that is still cubed. This gets the texture just right and avoids the "beef stew" consistancy some people on this thread are getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOOPDJ
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe is awsome, I usually serve it over cilantro-lime rice on a bed of fresh Romaine lettuce. Many thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This is a very good meat and broth type of chili. Not your typical, thick, tomato based chili. But still got excellent reviews from everyone that ate it. I thought one of my friends was actually going to "lick" the bowl..LOL. The only thing I added was a couple dashes of worcestershire sauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My husband really enjoys this recipe -- think he would even if he weren't a Texas native! I'll note that we never quite seem to get the eight servings promised. Think that's more of a portion-size issue on this end! :-) Nice, rich flavor. I might add some cocoa next time and see what happens. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
My family simply enjoyed this. The next evening the chilli was great for chilli dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Pretty good, just not what I'm used to. I tried it b/c I was looking for something different for a low carb diet. I'll probably stick to my regular recipe when off the diet but it was a good change of pace. I used ground beef and it worked well. Definitely make the day ahead to let the flavors mellow a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I, too, am from Texas and we generally like a meaty chili, rather than a tomato based chili. This is a good recipe. You can buy your roast and ask your butcher to give it a chili cut and he'll do it. This is easier and you don't have to worry that you're cutting it right. Chili cut is like hamburger, but it's a little more coarse.Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States