Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is a really good chili recipe, especially if you're not a bean fan. We serve it with cheddar cheese, sour cream and corn chips. Even the kids like it. I omit the oregano, because I don't like it, and it turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Tasted great, but surprisingly left me with indigestion, even though there are no onions and it's not too spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Great tasting chili. I did add beans though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
The family loved this! It's not like a regular chili full of the ground beef & veggies of course, so if you're up for somthing a little different than that- it was awesome! I will for sure make this again.I did add a can of tomatoes, and little celery while cooking the meat. There wasnt even left overs to try the next day, but I'm sure it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Did not care much for this. Does not taste like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I was looking for a low carb recipe and followed the advise of the rave reviews but I found it to be just so so. I felt like I was eating beef stew without all the goodies. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great chili! I use either cubed steak cut into 1" squares or ground sirloin. I suppose "chili grind" meat would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I didn't know until I moved to Texas that 'real' chili didn't have beans! Very good recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was great! I'm lazy so didn't cut up a chuck roast but used stew meat instead. Our store cuts it up fairly small. Other than that i followed the recipe to the letter and served it with white rice. It has a wonderful spice without being overly hot. The meat simmered to extremely tender without falling apart. My husband and I loved it and he asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was pretty good. My whole family really enjoyed it. I have to double or triple the recipe in order to get enough for my family. I added fresh cayennes to mine to spice it up more, a little sour cream and topped it with shredded cheddar. Couple that with a cold.......beverage :) and its great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States