Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I'm just a simple Pennsylvania girl. I expected something called "texas chili" to have bold, rich flavor. Imagine my surprise when I tasted what had been simmering for 4 hours on my stove top and discovered pile of beef in a tasteless broth. I had to make some changes. I added an additional 3 tablespoons of chili powder, and 2 more teaspoons cumin. I added cayenne pepper, onion powder, a pinch of dried basil, and two bay leaves. I also added another can of beef broth. I let it simmer another hour, and then refrigerated overnight (the bay leaves went into the refrigerator with them). The next day, I simmered it another hour before eating. If I had it on hand, I would have added another can of broth. In the end, it was good. However, I'm surprised how much additional seasoning I needed to add to make it good. Trust me, this recipe is bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is the bomb. I cooked my roast in a pressure cooker with all the spices for about 1 1/2 hours. The roast just fell apart so no need to cut it up. Then I mixed the flour with a little water and then strained that into the chili to thicken it up. I didn't use the oregeno (didn't have any) and the olive oil. Next time I'm going to try to just make it with ground beef so we can have it over hot dogs. I can't stop eating the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very tasty and very simple. Please Please don't add the salt--make sure to keep tasting it because mine turned out way too salty-probably from the beef broth and extra salt I added according to the recipe--otherwise, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was fabulous!!! I thought I was going to have plenty to freeze for another meal, but my husband ate it ALL! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
very flavorful. I made it in the crockpot. I would add some beans next time because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
At Last! I have been searching for a receipe for Chili Gravy for Enchiladas. And this is perfect. Not to mention it's great all by itself. I grew up in South Texas and THIS is the stuff I've been missing for so long. It really is best after a night in the frige and PLEASE! Keep it real, don't add beans.Awesome receipe, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only thing I did differently was using top sirloin. It was horrible. Very bland. Will not make it again and cannot recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I'm not from Texas so don't know true Texas chili, but to me it had more of a stew consistency. It's so good though that I don't care what it's called! The only modifications I made were in the spices because we can't eat really spicy food. I only used 2T chili powder and 1 1/2t cumin. I also only added about 3/4t of salt. After the 90 minutes was up it seemed somewhat soupy and very greasy on top, so I ladled the liquid into a gravy strainer to get most of the grease out, and then added about 2T more flour mixed with some water. It thickened up nicely and was the perfect consistency for us. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I cannot eat beef so I made this using ground turkey and substituted beef broth with chicken broth and it was one of the best chili recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
i was raised in tulsa a couple miles from ikes on admiral. my brother and i have always craved the stuff as our dad used to bring home once in awhile for dinner. it was then packed in a white cardboard carton fresh from the pot as was the spagetti which had the top red grease poured on it to keep it from sticking. we put the vinegar and more chili powder to it and had with the soda crackers. we could just never get enough . we all loved the stuff. this recipe comes about as close as i think we,ll ever hope to get. the addition of oregano is questionable. my brother thought i had the real stuff the first time i made it , i use ground beef. it was so simple in the 50,s and early 60,s growing up . thanks for a darn good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States