Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was the first chili I've ever made. It got rave reviews from everybody. The only chili recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This recipe was ok. I followed it exactly and it was more like a stew than a chili. It was also kind of bland, though I added extra chili powder, salt, and cumin. It was very soup like. To salvage it I added chili beans, tomatoes and onions. I also did what one reviewer suggested and used a potato masher to split up the meat. After the extra ingredients were added it was a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleR33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
MY HUSBAND ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS RECIPE. HE TAKES IT TO WORK AND SHARES WITH HIS COWORKERS. EVERYONE ENJOYS! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was an ok Chili. Perhaps I just like a more traditional one though. My husband did not like the cubed meat (I didn't mind though). I also really missed beans, I think that I would add them next time for more texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarterCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Perhaps I'm not used to chili without onions and tomatoes, but I'd have to make up a brand new name for this concoction. It's not like any chili I've had anywhere ... including Texas. I like the flavors, but it doesn't work as a stand alone dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was a good recipe. I made this as a request from my husband. He wanted a real chunky chili to have occasionally and he LOVED it. Now I made it with all the ingredients listed but I cooked it in my crockpot. After taste testing it I thought it could use some chili beans. It was good without them but I really wanted to add them and thought it was good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This chili has great flavor and perfect consistency. After following the recipe for the first time and loving it, I made a few changes for convenience and to suit my taste. I substitute "beef stew" cubes or "beef chop suey" cubes so I don't have to cut the meat myself. I add 2-3 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I also add chopped onion and bell pepper as well as a can of diced tomatoes for more variety. I made this recipe once with ground beef and it turned out well, but I did have to drain the fat after browning the meat. This is otherwise not necessary when using beef cubes. I have received many compliments from this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was very good and exactly what I wanted. The only thing I would do differently is add the salt at the end. It was a little too salty for my taste. I didn't have beef broth so I had to use a bouillon cube. That could have been the reason for the saltiness. Otherwise, great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've never had chili like this before (despite being a Texan). It had a great flavor, though, and was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This ended up being a good dinner because the meat was tender and the flavor was good. However, it is not the type of chili we are used to. We are not from Texas though!! Probably won't make Texas style chili again. I think we prefer a thicker chili that has onion, green chilies, tomatoes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States