Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I have been making this dish for years and I follow the recipe exactly except for adding more chili powder (more like 5 tablespoons). I sometimes have to add more broth as well. It really does need to refrigerate overnight to blend the flavors. Great served with sour cream, grated cheese and lime wedges to squirt the juice over the dish to taste. If you really must have beans, serve them on the side. This chili is the real deal. My family begs me to make it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I have been looking all over for an all beef, no bean chili that tastes like "Ike's Chili", an old restaurant in Tulsa. They won't give me theirs, but this one has to be it because it tastes the same - float a little vinegar on top and go to town. One caution though...this recipe takes longer to cook than indicated. I slow cook mine for about 4 hours and add a cup of red wine after about 3 hours. Then I use a mixer to shred the remaining beef that is still cubed. This gets the texture just right and avoids the "beef stew" consistancy some people on this thread are getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOOPDJ
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Absolutely fabulous plus I made it in the crock pot! My new favorite chili. I didn't measure ingredients but added them to suit my taste buds. I served it side by side with rice pilaf and cowboy beans (pinto beans w/ fresh roasted anaheim chilis, add to sauteed onion and bacon ) in a large flat bowl. Everyone was very pleased including myself! Thanks!!! Would be good with a dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I, too, am from Texas and we generally like a meaty chili, rather than a tomato based chili. This is a good recipe. You can buy your roast and ask your butcher to give it a chili cut and he'll do it. This is easier and you don't have to worry that you're cutting it right. Chili cut is like hamburger, but it's a little more coarse.Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I was a little hesitant to eat this chili once it was done...I'm used to red chili and it didn't look very good, but it was sooo good! I went back for seconds and my boyfriend loved it! For my second helping I added shredded cheese and sour cream and it was even better! I am on a low carb diet and it was a good alternative to my beloved chili. Thanks so much for this recipe, I am sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I'm from Texas and I have been making this chili for a while. This is our favorite chili. Sometimes when my kids have friends over and I need to stretch this recipe I like to add a can of diced tomatoes and a can of drained pinto beans. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This recipe was wonderful!.. a true Texas Chili has no beans. This satisfied a more 'low-carb' option AND the Kids Loved it! I did add beer instead of the second can of Beef broth because I love a Beer flavor in the chili and some crushed red pepper for more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was great! I'm lazy so didn't cut up a chuck roast but used stew meat instead. Our store cuts it up fairly small. Other than that i followed the recipe to the letter and served it with white rice. It has a wonderful spice without being overly hot. The meat simmered to extremely tender without falling apart. My husband and I loved it and he asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great chili! I use either cubed steak cut into 1" squares or ground sirloin. I suppose "chili grind" meat would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I'm just a simple Pennsylvania girl. I expected something called "texas chili" to have bold, rich flavor. Imagine my surprise when I tasted what had been simmering for 4 hours on my stove top and discovered pile of beef in a tasteless broth. I had to make some changes. I added an additional 3 tablespoons of chili powder, and 2 more teaspoons cumin. I added cayenne pepper, onion powder, a pinch of dried basil, and two bay leaves. I also added another can of beef broth. I let it simmer another hour, and then refrigerated overnight (the bay leaves went into the refrigerator with them). The next day, I simmered it another hour before eating. If I had it on hand, I would have added another can of broth. In the end, it was good. However, I'm surprised how much additional seasoning I needed to add to make it good. Trust me, this recipe is bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States