Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I didn't know until I moved to Texas that 'real' chili didn't have beans! Very good recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was great! I'm lazy so didn't cut up a chuck roast but used stew meat instead. Our store cuts it up fairly small. Other than that i followed the recipe to the letter and served it with white rice. It has a wonderful spice without being overly hot. The meat simmered to extremely tender without falling apart. My husband and I loved it and he asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was pretty good. My whole family really enjoyed it. I have to double or triple the recipe in order to get enough for my family. I added fresh cayennes to mine to spice it up more, a little sour cream and topped it with shredded cheddar. Couple that with a cold.......beverage :) and its great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I was a little hesitant to eat this chili once it was done...I'm used to red chili and it didn't look very good, but it was sooo good! I went back for seconds and my boyfriend loved it! For my second helping I added shredded cheese and sour cream and it was even better! I am on a low carb diet and it was a good alternative to my beloved chili. Thanks so much for this recipe, I am sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
My husband loved this. He topped it with cheese. I think it would be good over rice and topped with cheese. He's on a low carb diet so not rice for him. I'm not sure if I did something wrong but it didn't seem very soupy; more like tender meat in a gravy. We liked it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Absolutely fabulous plus I made it in the crock pot! My new favorite chili. I didn't measure ingredients but added them to suit my taste buds. I served it side by side with rice pilaf and cowboy beans (pinto beans w/ fresh roasted anaheim chilis, add to sauteed onion and bacon ) in a large flat bowl. Everyone was very pleased including myself! Thanks!!! Would be good with a dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I have been looking all over for an all beef, no bean chili that tastes like "Ike's Chili", an old restaurant in Tulsa. They won't give me theirs, but this one has to be it because it tastes the same - float a little vinegar on top and go to town. One caution though...this recipe takes longer to cook than indicated. I slow cook mine for about 4 hours and add a cup of red wine after about 3 hours. Then I use a mixer to shred the remaining beef that is still cubed. This gets the texture just right and avoids the "beef stew" consistancy some people on this thread are getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOOPDJ
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe is awsome, I usually serve it over cilantro-lime rice on a bed of fresh Romaine lettuce. Many thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This is a very good meat and broth type of chili. Not your typical, thick, tomato based chili. But still got excellent reviews from everyone that ate it. I thought one of my friends was actually going to "lick" the bowl..LOL. The only thing I added was a couple dashes of worcestershire sauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My husband really enjoys this recipe -- think he would even if he weren't a Texas native! I'll note that we never quite seem to get the eight servings promised. Think that's more of a portion-size issue on this end! :-) Nice, rich flavor. I might add some cocoa next time and see what happens. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States