Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This was okay. Turned out really salty. Not sure we would have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Simply wonderful! I leave out the flour but otherwise use it exactly as written. Sometimes I cook it in the crock pot instead. Don't skip the browning. It adds a lot of flavor. Since I used store bought beef stock which includes plenty of salt., I added only 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Would make a decent stew, but not a Texas Chili (sorry)... Followed recipe to the letter, tasted nothing like Texas Chili, tasted like stew with out the vegetables. The flavor wasn't bad, it just wasn't Chili, no bite, just hearty beef taste, meat was tender, but liquid was not thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
with a few variations, this is by far my favorite chile recipe. i toss the chuck in the dry spice mixture (with masa flour instead of all purpose) before browning in the oil. i also add finely diced onion with the garlic. and i use almost double the chili powder (or add smoked hot paprika or cayenne). after eating this, the tomato and bean crowd almost always sees the light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe for Texas chili. I make it with ground chili meat and 5 tablespoons of chili powder and some chopped jalapenos. We like it spicy. If you serve it with beans, make sure it's pintos. I always make a pot of pintos, because my husband likes what I call chili beans. And I haven't seen anyone suggesting eating it with corn tortillas, that is the way we ate it in South Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I loved the texture but added some slices of hot dried sausage and a bit of scotch bonnet pepper for some added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great chili!!! I added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice and cooked it in the crock pot on low for 4 hours. I also added a 1/2 cup onion to the beef while sautéing the beef. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
The meat was tender and tasty but more of a filling for tacos or a burrito, not a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is an excellent chili recipe, but I tend to use it as a guideline because I do like to add beans, tomato sauce, etc. Last winter I used to make a big pot of pintos every Monday for the week and ended up making this chili since I had the beans on hand. My family loved it and I plan on doing the same this upcoming winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Easy recipe to follow and the chili did taste almost exactly like Ike's!!! We grew up in Tulsa and have been looking for years to try and find a recipe to taste like Ike's. I added pinto beans to it and I served it with elbow macaroni, since I love Ike's 3-way chili, and shredded cheese. I had to add some extra chili powder, just like I do at Ike's, and it was delicious. My grandaddy always got onions on the side with his and next time I'll cut up an onion to eat with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States