Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This frosting is delicious! It may take a little thought beforehand to prepare the strawberries, but it is SOOO worth that step. My chopped up strawberries slightly overflowed the measuring cup before I carefully reduced it as recommended by the author. Talk about a fresh yummy frosting! Thank you so much, Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was a perfect find for me today! Me and the little guy made some cupcakes that we stuffed w/ Golden Oreos (we were playing, lol), and I was looking for a different type of frosting besides the usual chocolate or vanilla...then I stumbled upon Marianne's pic in the photo pages (Thanks, Marianne!), and I decided that this was it. It also worked out b/c I had some strawberries that were a little past their prime, so what better to do w/ them than make this... LOVED the fresh flavor, and so simple to make too! Thanks, Candice, for a wonderfully delicious frosting~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I did use more strawberries (I like the flavor) and ended up not using 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar. Overall divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Still trying to find your real strawberry cupcake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made this frosting yesterday. The flavor was nice and the strawberry certainly came through well but the frosting was a little too sweet and the texture very grainy due to the seed remnants. A smoother creamier frosting would have been preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Finally a frosting with real strawberries! Thank you Candice for such a delicious and easy frosting (even with the step of making the strawberry puree). I did have to add a bit more sugar to make it thick enough to frost cupcakes. But, it was the perfect topping to chocolate cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I'm never buying those shelf frostings. I made this with mango (I didn't have strawberries) and it turned it out very yummy. I was confused about the amount of sugar...the lists of ingredients say 3 1/2 cup but the directions says otherwise. I only used 2 1/2 (and will try less next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Really good, but really sweet. I had to add about one more cup of confectioners sugar to get it to cupcake frosting consistency. 20 minutes is too long to cook the strawberries for. I only needed about 10. Overall, way better tasting and looking than all the other strawberry frostings I've tried. Update: I'm changing my 4 stars to 5. The frosting tasted so much better the next day. My friends said the fresh strawberry flavor was very prevalent, like fresh strawberry ice cream in frosting form. Will be my go to strawberry frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Easy, and tastes AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieinwyoming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burns, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States