Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is totally awesome! The great thing about it is you can switch it up with different fruits. I made it with mango and it was amazing. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I've used this recipe twice. The first time I made it I used strawberries and the second time I used blackberries. I LOVED both of them. This recipe worked great. The only change I made with the confectioner's sugar at the end of the recipe (when you start adding the reduction). I use a lot less sugar than what the recipe called for. I started off with just adding a 1/2 cup and then added more bit by bit as I added the fruit (just enough to keep the frosting from getting too liquid). My friends loved the cupcakes and thought that using real fruit made it that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
PERFECT! I followed the recipe exactly but I was tempted to use strawberry flavoring for the vanilla extract. I'm glad I didn't as it would have been too strong a flavor for me. Made as written, this recipe is PERFECT. It goes so well with the "REALLY real Strawberry Cupcakes" from this site which is another of Candice's prize recipes. Thank you Candice for sharing your PERFECT recipe! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I don't have anything else to add that the other reviews have already said. It tastes amazing. I think I may use this for my wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was very disappointing. Did not taste like strawberry at all, more like sour fake sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My strawberries burned... :( The second batch turned out pretty good, but I thought the strawberry flavor wasn't intense enough - and it was very, very sweet! Too sweet. I put the puree through a mesh strainer to get rid of any seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I had a lots of complements about this frosting. I did make the following changes. I added a little more strawberries (about 1 1/2cups instead of the 1 cup) and added 1/8tsp of almond extract, which brings out the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Way too buttery. After I made it, I realized it was missing cream cheese. I wont be making this particular recipe again. I however will be making one that has one stick of butter and 8 oz of cream cheese in the frosting. This was basically strawberry flavored butter on the cake. This recipe is NOT a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I wanted to use up some old strawberries instead of throwing them out and had a white cake mix on hand. I only had margarine instead of butter, and I have no mixer of any kind, but adding more sugar and stirring my butt off made a wonderful frosting! I will try again using real butter, but love the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
AMAZING! Worth the effort for sure! I made it exactly as written (though I will reduce the time on boiling the strawberry puree .. I started with a full cup of puree, but ended with only 4 tablespoons of reduction!). The taste, however, was fabulous. I shared cupcakes with 12 different people, and every single one commented on the frosting being incredible! So very happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States