Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This recipe by itself is AMAZING!!! I am a fan of ALL NATURAL and Organic so, I've used it numerous times as my GO TO for Strawberry Frosting!!! *** After repeated attempts using Organic products and Real Butter, I notice the butter ratio being to high (that's a good thing!) and only used about 3/4 or, less of what the recipe called for so, add slowly! The last few times I've made it, I replaced half of the butter (1/2 c of each) with cream cheese and it was AMAZING!!! It still kept that fluffy texture and piped beautifully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv 2 Bake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great strawberry flavor! I used this as cake filling and for decorating a strawberry cake. Followed directions except for a couple changes. Used 20 oz. frozen strawberries thawed overnight in a strainer over a bowl. Squeezed out 1 1/4C of juice reduced down to 1/4C in the microwave using a 2C Pyrex sprayed with Pam for 8-10 mins. Pureed what was left of the strawberries and then added the cooled reduced juice. Used less vanilla (3/4 tsp) because I wanted the strawberry taste to really stand out and it did. Got rave reviews from friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great. Used a lot less sugar because I got tired of sifting! Also used frozen strawberries. It took an entire bag of TJ's organic frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I want to start by saying that I don't like strawberries or buttercream frosting. But my kids asked for vanilla cupcakes with strawberry frosting so I gave this a try. The only change I made to the recipe was to strain the puree, as suggested in other reviews. And WOW. I mean, WOW. This is a fabulous frosting. Something about it is just marvelous. It's not overly sweet (my strawberries were a bit tart, and I only added powdered sugar until I had a nice, firm frosting) and it has the perfect fresh berry taste. I let it sit overnight and it really gets fabulous on day two. Apparently, my aversion to strawberries is a texture issue, because I absolutely could not keep my spoon out of the bowl once this was made. It paired perfectly with a light, fluffy vanilla cupcake and wasn't too sugar charged for the kids. Amazing. I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was a really great find for me. My husband keeps going into the fridge and randomly scooping spoonfuls of the leftovers out. He hates frosting. But yet, he keeps doing this. That tells you how good it is. I didn't have 1 cup of butter, so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. Didn't use as much sugar as is called for, but close - probably 1/2 cup shy. I strained the seeds out of the puree before adding it to the mix. Amazing how good this turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
i made this frosting to go with the real strawberry cupcakes linked to this recipe. both were great. the fresh strawberries i used this time were not entirely fabulous (i.e. not ruby-red and bursting with sweet strawberry flavor). even so, the reduced strawberry puree was key. i can only imagine the amazing flavor i will get when i remake these (and i WILL) with wonderful, ripe berries in season! oh yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the BEST Strawberry frosting I have EVER tasted. I was able to reduce the strawberries while my cupcakes were baking, and the cakes cooled while I mixed the frosting. I put this on chocolate cupcakes for Valentine's Day, and it's a HIT! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe... might even use it for blueberries sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This frosting has a wonderful flavor and is so creamy. The only thing I added was a pinch of salt and a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Everyone loved this frosting. I managed to miss getting the strawberries when shopping, so I substituted sugar free strawberry jam in place of puree, and it was wonderful! And so much easier and quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We used mixed berries and absolutely loved this recipe! We put it on Dark Chocolate Cake I by Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States