Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I've tried this with fresh strawberries as well as a frozen mixed berry combo I bought at Costco. They were both good but awfully sweet. I used about 1-1/2 cups of berries for a deeper flavor, hoping to let more berry flavor shine through instead of the sweet. I think next time I will reduce the sugar. Loved the idea of using berries! The color was absolutely awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Corbyzgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Perfect! If you prefer, you can also substitute part of the butter with cream cheese. This was ok for decorating, but not perfect (and I don't know what I'm doing as far as cake decorating anyway), but I probably could've added more powdered sugar to fix it. Everyone's strawberries, puree and reduction will be slightly different as far as water content, so you'll have to use your own judgment at the end. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I just made this frosting on yesterday, and I loooved it! I read somewhere on here that some people thought the frosting was too grainy. Originally I thought the same thing, but I put my cupcakes in the fridge overnight, and the next day they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Seemed too buttery to me. I was surprised to see the recipe called for a whole cup of butter. That seemed like a lot compared to other butter cream recipes I've made. And in the end it tasted too buttery. I had to add some milk and more sugar to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly. Had all my ingredients at room temperature. Defrosting separated big-time! Won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Coker Yin
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Didn't change a thing. Frosting was perfectly pink and such a great strawberry flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Tasted great, but I do have to say that it was a little too sweet for me. And that's saying something! I have a major sweet tooth and this was a little past my limit. But it did have an excellent flavor. Another dislike was how runny it was. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out very runny. I don't think I will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
It was really good and everybody that had one of the cupcakes loved the frosting. Over all it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made 2 9-in. Layers. I had to stretch the frosting very thin to cover the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States