Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by drewface
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Really sorry about the frosting. It should read 1/2 cup cream cheese instead of 3/4 cup; I mistyped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I was so pleased with how these turned out and darned proud to serve them too. Everything about them was right. At first glance, they're pretty and inviting, just tempting you to pick one up and take a bite. The top of the cupcake has a slight crispiness to it, similar to a pound cake. The cake is moist and full of fresh flavor, tho' I did my best to ensure that by eliminating the lemon zest and adding 1/2 tsp. of strawberry extract. I did use the pudding mix and I swear it makes a difference in terms of moistness (and it's a much cheaper alternative to the cake enhancer King Arthur Flour sells). I did alter the frosting as I wanted something sweeter and not quite as tangy as I knew only 1/2 cup of powdered sugar would make this. I also wanted more of it. So - I used a full package of cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract and a tablespoon or two of pureed strawberries which gave it a delicate strawberry flavor and a pretty pink blush. Rather than garnishing with sliced strawberries I used whole strawberries so they wouldn't bleed into the frosting. Simply loved 'em - nothing about these not to like, particularly with the modifications I made for extra strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I hate to give a bad review, but unfortunately these are not cupcakes. They are muffins - dense and bread-y. The strawberry flavour didn't come out at all and I did not end up bringing them to the social function I made them for because they really didn't taste that good. Now I know to give these recipes a trial run first. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love these cupcakes because they are made from real strawberries. The recipe as is, is getting a "3" rating from me. The strawberry flavor was not that strong, the pudding mix made the cupcakes have a weird texture and the cream cheese was too overpowering. The second time I made them I made some modifications and they were a "5"!!! I increased the amount of strawberry puree, omitted the pudding mix and added more powdered sugar to the icing....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
WOW, this is great! It's very, pure and yummy! I would use more strawberries next time, only cause I love them sooo much! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe! I used sifted cake flour which made the cupcakes lighter. I also added a little bit on strawberry extract to add a stronger strawberry flavor. The frosting recipe is great, but I would double the recipe. The amount of frosting yielded from the recipe was not enough to cover the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very Pretty and Delicious! I followed the directions and cooking instructions to a "T". I used a little more strawberries to make the puree equal the 3/4 cups called for in the recipe. Also, I ended up with 16 cupcakes. Baking time for me was 22 minutes, cooling time was 15 minutes. These are simply lovely with a nice pinkish hue color. I did not add any red food coloring, just let the natural color from strawberries show. I made the frosting using the whole package of cream cheese and added some pureed strawberries. I also thought the specks of the strawberries gave it a nicer appearance. Didn't have enough strawberries to top each of the 16 cupcakes with so next time I will make sure to have extra whole fresh strawberries. This is very FRESH tasting; the cake is absolutely moist. I know the pudding had a lot to do with its moistness, so I am glad that I added it in. Reminded me of a pound cake only better and CUTER in these little cupcakes. The cream cheese is sweetened just right. A sheer delight and wonderful treat this is for dessert. A recipe that I would like to make again. Thank you drewface for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These are moist and flavorful cupcakes. I'm giving a 4 star rating only because I like my cupcakes a little bit lighter. They're not muffins, but they are heavier than I like my cupcakes to be. Nonetheless, they're very flavorful and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by CookieCritter
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These cupcakes are really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any fresh lemons to zest, so I used lime zest instead. The strawberry version tasted so wonderful that I tried puree blueberries too and they also came out very tasty and moist. I will definitely keep this recipe handy because they are a nice treat for pot lucks and family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were GREAT!! I used a cup of pureed strawberries and added 2 T sweetened condensed milk to the mix. We didn't have the pudding mix. I also added pureed strawberries to the icing. This recipe is yummy because it doesn't have that weird jello mix taste. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States