Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Coming from a GA native, this is awesome Southern cornbread. Like everyone said, not sweet, but it isn't supposed to be. I have made this 2 times now, and followed every ingredient and direction. The obligation thing that has happened both times is that the bottom burns since I wait for the middle to bubble when I pour it on the skillet. Next time, I will pull it off and put it in the oven as soon as the sides bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
No sugar, yes!!!! Thank you! The thing about the flour well, I have always used it and my mother always used it, and her mother and grandmother used it. We are all from the south! I have always heard that southern corn bread is just minus the sugar, as we don't like cake cornbread. I made half the recipe and it was perfect. I wish I would have had a cast iron but it came out great anyway. I didn't have buttermilk, nor was I making it, so I used regular. Plus I don't want all the added fat. As for bacon grease comments, well go ahead if you want, just remember your fat content will be much higher. Substitute the butter for bacon grease problem solved. Personally I used a lower fat margarine, it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This has to be the best cornbread I've ever tasted. The only thing that I did change was the baking powder to bicarbonate of soda (use exactly the same amount). I hope you enjoy this as much as I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was the best cornbread recipe!!!! I did a add a couple of things to the recipe after I tried it a couple of times. I added 2 tablespoons of mayo and a half of a cup of sugar. I will be using this recipe each time I make cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Texture was too wet in middle and chewy on outside. Also thought the buttermilk flavor was too strong. Nobody in my family cared for. I know cornbread is a food that people get a strong taste preference for and this recipe just wasn't it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I loved it; more importantly, my husband loves it. I don't know who says you don't use flour in cornbread, but they must not have grown up in Georgia. Half flour, and half corn meal. Regular flour--just like in this recipe and NO sugar. However, I try to remember to throw in one tablespoon of sugar just to stave off the slight bitterness of the cornmeal. I forgot this time, but no matter, it's a great recipe just as written. I didn't have corn oil today, used vegeable oil, but corn oil works and tastes better for cornbread. I'm having a cornbread tasting at my house, using several different recipes to find the one my husband likes best--he's a Cajun and he knows you don't put sugar in de cornbread. This one is in the lead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
One thing was left out for authenticity...just before adding the batter and prior to placing in oven....coat your skillet with sugar as you would flour. Only allow it to cool within 3-5 minutes and remove it from skillet so it doesn't have time to adhere,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britt

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
BEST CORNBREAD EVER!! This is a big receipe. But just enough to feed my two large teenage boys and the family for a couple of meals. Ive tried this receipe a few different ways and the original receipe is the best. I tried self rising flour istead of plain flour becuause thats what I had and it was too salty. Then I tried the plain flour like it calls for and it was perfect. Also, this really does make a huge pan or cornbread so a 12 inch cast iron skillet is a must. Perfect Thickness! I dont however cook mine on top of the stove, what I do, is heat my skillet and oil in the oven while it warms and while im mixing the bread. Comes out perfect. So moist and buttery. This southern cornbread receipe will find any girl a husband lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A lot of flour. I grew up in KY also, and never knew anyone to use more than a couple of tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I am from the south, and while this is not necessarily traditional southern cornbread, it is very good. I needed a large batch for a group, and everyone loved this recipe. It is much richer and denser than most recipes though, and it makes a huge pan - I used a 9 x 13 baking dish, and it was almost too small. To address some of the other comments: yes, many recipes for southern cornbread use flour - usually half flour and half cornmeal - makes it softer than using cornmeal alone. Yes, many recipes for southern cornbread use sugar - some people think it is a requirement to have a little sugar. And yes, while there are plenty of self-rising mixes available, a lot of people still bake "from scratch" and make our own cornbread, biscuits, and bread!! Just a matter of preference and convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States