Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Texture was too wet in middle and chewy on outside. Also thought the buttermilk flavor was too strong. Nobody in my family cared for. I know cornbread is a food that people get a strong taste preference for and this recipe just wasn't it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I loved it; more importantly, my husband loves it. I don't know who says you don't use flour in cornbread, but they must not have grown up in Georgia. Half flour, and half corn meal. Regular flour--just like in this recipe and NO sugar. However, I try to remember to throw in one tablespoon of sugar just to stave off the slight bitterness of the cornmeal. I forgot this time, but no matter, it's a great recipe just as written. I didn't have corn oil today, used vegeable oil, but corn oil works and tastes better for cornbread. I'm having a cornbread tasting at my house, using several different recipes to find the one my husband likes best--he's a Cajun and he knows you don't put sugar in de cornbread. This one is in the lead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
One thing was left out for authenticity...just before adding the batter and prior to placing in oven....coat your skillet with sugar as you would flour. Only allow it to cool within 3-5 minutes and remove it from skillet so it doesn't have time to adhere,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britt

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
BEST CORNBREAD EVER!! This is a big receipe. But just enough to feed my two large teenage boys and the family for a couple of meals. Ive tried this receipe a few different ways and the original receipe is the best. I tried self rising flour istead of plain flour becuause thats what I had and it was too salty. Then I tried the plain flour like it calls for and it was perfect. Also, this really does make a huge pan or cornbread so a 12 inch cast iron skillet is a must. Perfect Thickness! I dont however cook mine on top of the stove, what I do, is heat my skillet and oil in the oven while it warms and while im mixing the bread. Comes out perfect. So moist and buttery. This southern cornbread receipe will find any girl a husband lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A lot of flour. I grew up in KY also, and never knew anyone to use more than a couple of tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I am from the south, and while this is not necessarily traditional southern cornbread, it is very good. I needed a large batch for a group, and everyone loved this recipe. It is much richer and denser than most recipes though, and it makes a huge pan - I used a 9 x 13 baking dish, and it was almost too small. To address some of the other comments: yes, many recipes for southern cornbread use flour - usually half flour and half cornmeal - makes it softer than using cornmeal alone. Yes, many recipes for southern cornbread use sugar - some people think it is a requirement to have a little sugar. And yes, while there are plenty of self-rising mixes available, a lot of people still bake "from scratch" and make our own cornbread, biscuits, and bread!! Just a matter of preference and convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe! Really similar to the cornbread my grandmother used to make. She had to alter her recipe in the 60's due to health reasons, and so she always made it with vegetable or corn oil instead of bacon fat. This makes a VERY large amount! I cut the recipe in half and still had enough to make Thanksgiving dressing. If you don't have an iron skillet, you can let the batter set up in the bowl for about 20 minutes, and preheat your greased baking pan in the oven for a few minutes prior to pouring in the batter. I personally don't like cornbread sweet for supper, but I DO put in about an 1/8 tsp just to counteract any slight bitterness the cornmeal may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I thought this recipe was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
It did make a big pone! I am not sure which part of the South this is from and so to each his own. I am from Louisiana and the buttermilk taste was too strong for me. Gonna keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is GREAT cornbread. NO Sugar, the way it is supposed to be. I always wonder who decided cornbread is a desert???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States