Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Its good with tweaks. For one, I prefer a less thick cornbread, so I half the recipe. Also, it's way too liquidy for me, so I cut the butter down to 2T and milk to 1 1/2 c. Also, doubled the salt to 1t (even for 1/2 recipe). I cook at 450 for 30ish minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Champlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shary3024
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Great recipe. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I'm live in Texas and make beans and cornbread alot. That is way too much buttermilk in cornbread i usually just use one cup in my cornbread and it's perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
must have sugar!!! no flavor at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
The biggest problem is there is far, far too much liquid. I cooked this for well over an hour and it's basically a cornmeal soufflé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Easy to throw together, too. I did use the self rising cornmeal mix to simplify things even more. I also took some suggestions from above, under most helpful review. Preheated oven to 450 degrees. I did 2 cups of buttermilk instead of the 4, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 2 eggs, and added the 1/4 cup of bacon drippings to the cast iron skillet and placed in oven while it preheated. Then I poured the drippings into the batter. Poured batter back into skillet and baked for about 20 minutes. This way of doing it worked out great so I recommend following their suggestions. The family loved it. I loved it. Very delicious way to fill everyone up at supper time. I give the actual recipe 3 stars since it required so many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was one of the most disappointing recipes I've tried on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Sparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Coming from a GA native, this is awesome Southern cornbread. Like everyone said, not sweet, but it isn't supposed to be. I have made this 2 times now, and followed every ingredient and direction. The obligation thing that has happened both times is that the bottom burns since I wait for the middle to bubble when I pour it on the skillet. Next time, I will pull it off and put it in the oven as soon as the sides bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
No sugar, yes!!!! Thank you! The thing about the flour well, I have always used it and my mother always used it, and her mother and grandmother used it. We are all from the south! I have always heard that southern corn bread is just minus the sugar, as we don't like cake cornbread. I made half the recipe and it was perfect. I wish I would have had a cast iron but it came out great anyway. I didn't have buttermilk, nor was I making it, so I used regular. Plus I don't want all the added fat. As for bacon grease comments, well go ahead if you want, just remember your fat content will be much higher. Substitute the butter for bacon grease problem solved. Personally I used a lower fat margarine, it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This has to be the best cornbread I've ever tasted. The only thing that I did change was the baking powder to bicarbonate of soda (use exactly the same amount). I hope you enjoy this as much as I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States