Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
must have sugar!!! no flavor at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
The biggest problem is there is far, far too much liquid. I cooked this for well over an hour and it's basically a cornmeal soufflé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Easy to throw together, too. I did use the self rising cornmeal mix to simplify things even more. I also took some suggestions from above, under most helpful review. Preheated oven to 450 degrees. I did 2 cups of buttermilk instead of the 4, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 2 eggs, and added the 1/4 cup of bacon drippings to the cast iron skillet and placed in oven while it preheated. Then I poured the drippings into the batter. Poured batter back into skillet and baked for about 20 minutes. This way of doing it worked out great so I recommend following their suggestions. The family loved it. I loved it. Very delicious way to fill everyone up at supper time. I give the actual recipe 3 stars since it required so many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was one of the most disappointing recipes I've tried on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Sparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Coming from a GA native, this is awesome Southern cornbread. Like everyone said, not sweet, but it isn't supposed to be. I have made this 2 times now, and followed every ingredient and direction. The obligation thing that has happened both times is that the bottom burns since I wait for the middle to bubble when I pour it on the skillet. Next time, I will pull it off and put it in the oven as soon as the sides bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
No sugar, yes!!!! Thank you! The thing about the flour well, I have always used it and my mother always used it, and her mother and grandmother used it. We are all from the south! I have always heard that southern corn bread is just minus the sugar, as we don't like cake cornbread. I made half the recipe and it was perfect. I wish I would have had a cast iron but it came out great anyway. I didn't have buttermilk, nor was I making it, so I used regular. Plus I don't want all the added fat. As for bacon grease comments, well go ahead if you want, just remember your fat content will be much higher. Substitute the butter for bacon grease problem solved. Personally I used a lower fat margarine, it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This has to be the best cornbread I've ever tasted. The only thing that I did change was the baking powder to bicarbonate of soda (use exactly the same amount). I hope you enjoy this as much as I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was the best cornbread recipe!!!! I did a add a couple of things to the recipe after I tried it a couple of times. I added 2 tablespoons of mayo and a half of a cup of sugar. I will be using this recipe each time I make cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Texture was too wet in middle and chewy on outside. Also thought the buttermilk flavor was too strong. Nobody in my family cared for. I know cornbread is a food that people get a strong taste preference for and this recipe just wasn't it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I loved it; more importantly, my husband loves it. I don't know who says you don't use flour in cornbread, but they must not have grown up in Georgia. Half flour, and half corn meal. Regular flour--just like in this recipe and NO sugar. However, I try to remember to throw in one tablespoon of sugar just to stave off the slight bitterness of the cornmeal. I forgot this time, but no matter, it's a great recipe just as written. I didn't have corn oil today, used vegeable oil, but corn oil works and tastes better for cornbread. I'm having a cornbread tasting at my house, using several different recipes to find the one my husband likes best--he's a Cajun and he knows you don't put sugar in de cornbread. This one is in the lead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States