Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Really, really, really loved this recipe. A little advice, don't add the water all at once, because you might not even need all of it. And I found it better to mix it with my hand rather than a spoon, and I divided pieces into small balls and rolled them out into big, thin circles, found it easier than cutting. But it was a really good recipe. Would definitely use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I liked the taste of the sopapillas but I didn't like how they were not as soft.maybe I rolled them too thin???willanother problem I ran into my dough was too watery. I had to add a little more flour. def try again everyone still enjoyed them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quin C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Just made these for my son's Arizona State Fair project. This was my first time deep frying and it wasn't as difficult as I'd thought. I only had 12 oz of organic high-heat safflower oil so I used organic coconut oil (so much healthier) for the balance. The sopapillas were so light and such a pretty gold! (Didn't taste the coconut at all.) I spent about 30 minutes trying to get the temperature close to 375. I bought a candy thermometer and this was the first time I used it. It only goes up to 400 degrees, but at one point, the oil was far hotter than that! Once I was able to control and moderate the heat, the frying was a breeze. I had a nice rhythm going with the new dough going in and the golden, crispy dough going out. I didn't flour the board enough so when I spatulaed the dough off the board, it accordioned and I had to flour my fingers and stretch it back out. I quickly learned a few things (as long as you're not as concerned with looks or pockets): It definitely doesn't have to be a perfect square--or a square at all. There is a lot of leeway (though you can't really walk away from the oil) between light golden and dark golden--they all tasted good. If you can successfully lay the square on top of the oil, you get a nice bubble. Pockets seem hard to come by, but again, this was my first time out. You can make these as 2" shapes and get many more out of them. I started off big then experimented with small and ended up with about 80! An easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Perfect dough for sopapillas - to get them to puff up so that you have a hollow center for honey or agave roll the dough or to 1/8"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Really good the first time trying these. Good recipe. works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Oh my they where so good and easy to make. Not good thing i might make them to much lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Love. Puffy, soft and perfect. Just like the ones I grew up eating. First day we eat them with honey until we can eat no more. The next we have stuffed sopapillas. Just stuff with meat and cheese. Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Excellent. And so easy. I was nervous making these for the first time at 9 o'clock at night for a Mexican themed luncheon the next day. I followed the recipe exactly except adding salt, only b/c I didn't have any, but I would add it if I did. After resting for 20 minutes, I followed someone else's suggestion to roll out balls of the dough. So I divided my dough into 8 balls and cut into 8 triangles each w/ a pizza roller cutter. Made 64! I brushed melted butter on and rewarmed in the oven at 400 for 6 minutes for the luncheon. I topped half w/ cinnamon/sugar and honey/chocolate sauce and served w/ ice cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made these, following the recipe exactly with the exception of swapping half the AP flour for WW flour, which I normally do, and they came out pretty dense with little rise. I made some the other night, following a different recipe that did not have shortening in it, and those had rise, but were still a bit denser than I would prefer, which I attributed to the WW flour, which is why I chose to try this one. I think I'll go back to the other recipe and try it w/out the WW flour and see if that makes them more tender so I know that that was why. I may try this one again, with straight AP flour, but only after I've done the other one first, as I had better success with it (btw, the other one was an Indian Frybread recipe that I found on AllRecipes.com, basically the same thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
after you let the dough rest for 20 or so minutes, kneed it about 4 times and that will create even more fluffiness. I put chocolate chips in the middle and folded it over and made those for my kids so good, and it does work for tortillas as well just buy a press and there you go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States