Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Easy and nice dough to work with. Followed another review and did not roll, but just flattened out with fingers into a round shape. Puffed up nicely in the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by livnlife
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was very good recipe. We ate ours with homemade refried beans and cheese. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livnlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
These turned out perfect and are super easy to make! I only ate 5 and my husband ate the rest' they didn't even last 24 hours! I covered them in cinnamon and sugar and topped with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was great ;) I used wheat flour. they are the family top pick now thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Made this for a get together - went over FAMOUSLY! I used cookie cutters to make fun shapes, and thinly rolled out dough made these puffy, and fabulous. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on them right out of the fryer, served with honey, and was applauded. THANKS for making this zero look like a hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina_p_101

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
awesome recipe!!! They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskellyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
An excellent recipe! Mine turned out perfect during both tries. I didn't bother waiting after making the dough--baking soda shouldn't require a proofing stage. Will definitely be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupped_mouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I've never had sopapillas before, so I don't know what the flavor or texture is supposed to be like, but these were really good! They puffed up beautifully and cooked just perfect. I decided to serve them plain as an accompaniment to Beefy Spanish Rice by Donna L. My daughters thought it was great to bite open the ends of these and fill them up with the rice and meat mixture. I can't wait to try them with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
i was glad i was a "good girl" all day because i lost all control when it came time to eat these! two hints: be sure your oil is good and hot or your sopapillas will sink, take too long to rise, and be too oily. also we found cutting the squares a bit smaller (use a pizza roller!) made the perfect little pocket to fill with honey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These came out perfectly! I followed the directions exactly. As one of the previous reviews noted, I rolled out the dough a little thicker and left the rolled out dough to rest as long as I could and it puffed up beautifully! Just with some sprinkled cinnamon and honey drizzled on was very good. I did make some very thin ones first with cinnamon and sugar and they tasted just like mexican buñuelos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States