Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made these tonight for the first time. they were very puffy and perfect!!! just wonderful. my whole family loved them. thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My daughter had to take something in for Spanish class so I made these. SOOOO easy to make..alittle time consuming but the end results are wonderful. Will make again and again:)UPDATE: I still make these and still so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
One of our friends is always talking about how he misssed his mothers sopapillas, so for his 77th birthday I went searching for a recipe and came upon this one. I am so glad I did. Birthday boy was in 7th heaven, he used one as a pusher for my husbands 'chili verde', then couldn't get enough of them for dessert. He said they were as good as his mom used to make. Birthday dinner was a success. Thank you Leaz for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Made these on Christmas Eve and they were a hit with my extended family. All were gone within five minutes! I shook half of them in a baggie with powdered sugar and half of them in a baggie with cinnamon & sugar (only shake 2 per bag at a time). Served with honey, couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amygoes211

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were very good just a lot of work! We ate them with warm honey butter, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
What a great recipe! And it was so helpful to read others reviews and add them to how I did mine. I did mine half wheat flour and half white. Probably not as light and fluffy but they had great flavor. I had an oops when I was adding the salt. I took out the bucket and put in sugar. When I discovered my mistake I then added the salt. I'm sure you couldn't even tell the difference. I rolled them out to about 1/8". I did fry mine at the "sizzle" temperature as suggested by another reviewer. I had a guage and got it up to about 250 F and that was perfect. Everyone of mine puffed thanks to another suggestion to get some hot oil on the top side as soon as they go in. Whats great about this is you can roll out small protions at a time at different thicknesses and see which you like the best and go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome! I made these with 2 cups reg. flour and 2 cups wholegrain spelt flour to make them a little healthier, and they came out great! Between myself, hubby, and the 3 kids, the entire batch was gone in a span of a couple of hours, topped with homemade Chilean manjar, YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
these are very good and my church loved them. served them with a simple cinnamon syrup that i made in 5 mins. took some time to fry them all but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS THAT WORK FOR ME EACH TIME: It's very true that to get these to by puffy, you must get the dough as thin as possible. I just make sure the oil is at a temp that if you enter something, it sizzles. Never need a thermometer :) Mine are super puffy if I let one side cook for 2 min, flip ...then another 2 min. They taste exactly like they do at restaurants, and enough of a pocket inside to insert that warm honey. And why stick to squares? I found a star shape cookie cutter & used them. Thought they were cuter. Don't overload your fryer though because you have to leave time to hurry & flip. Also, be sure to wipe off extra oil w/ paper towels!!! Mine didn't taste greasy AT ALL doing it this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States