Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I just made this soup now, and, have to say it's sooo simple and easy to make. I did make a couple of changes to boost the flavour as I noted that people said it was bland. I peeled and diced potatoes and boiled in the chicken stock. I added some white wine, celery seed and garlic to the butter to saute the leeks. I pureed the soup without any milk and the consistency was just perfect. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lennie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Yummy. Added the crumbled bacon and 3/4 of a cup of some leftover chicken breast. Sauteed 3 slices of pre cooked bacon along with the leeks, and a couple cloves of minced garlic. Would be good with some corn too. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Just made this soup. Was really good but I found the broth a little thin. I added about a 1/2 cup of Idoahoan premium potato flakes. It thickened the broth just enough. Now it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brackenridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Easy recipe and great tasting. I used new red potatoes and left skins on. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup low fat milk. Added some Season All in place of salt. Garnished with shredded sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Used Heavy whipping cream instead of milk...made my on vegetable stock...for my vegetarian daughter added corn...for my meat eaters added chopped shrimp and scallop. This is a great base for chowder lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So easy & soooo good! Garnished w cheddar, parsley & pepper, eat w French rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
THE BEST in comfort food - right up there with mac and cheese!! I can't stop tasting it!! Hope there's enough left to serve!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
SO easy and SO good! I was out of milk, so I used half and half, but no other changes, as I had both small red potatoes and small leeks from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Really good and easy! I used ramp (wild leeks) and half of the broth was vegetable stock I had 'left-over' from another recipe...Garnished with bacon, scallions, and cheese. YUM! Thanks Ashley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Simple delicious and buttery in flavor. Use while milk if you can to really get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States