Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Easy recipe and great tasting. I used new red potatoes and left skins on. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup low fat milk. Added some Season All in place of salt. Garnished with shredded sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Used Heavy whipping cream instead of milk...made my on vegetable stock...for my vegetarian daughter added corn...for my meat eaters added chopped shrimp and scallop. This is a great base for chowder lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So easy & soooo good! Garnished w cheddar, parsley & pepper, eat w French rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
THE BEST in comfort food - right up there with mac and cheese!! I can't stop tasting it!! Hope there's enough left to serve!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
SO easy and SO good! I was out of milk, so I used half and half, but no other changes, as I had both small red potatoes and small leeks from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Really good and easy! I used ramp (wild leeks) and half of the broth was vegetable stock I had 'left-over' from another recipe...Garnished with bacon, scallions, and cheese. YUM! Thanks Ashley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Simple delicious and buttery in flavor. Use while milk if you can to really get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I used a couple different kinds of potatoes cause that's what I had, but this was amazing! This was my first time making potato soup and I've never had leeks so I was a little weary, but so worth it!! I added bacon bits which only made this better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is one of my favorite soups. Even my four and five year old eat it. I follow the recipe as listed and it tastes fantastic, I sometimes add a little white wine when I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Davison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We love this soup! I make it with a few changes though... I like the flavor of the skin (plus it's added nutrients) so I chop the potatoes to bite size pieces and go ahead boil them in the chicken or veggie stock until they're tender. I then add the sauteed leeks. I also add fresh garlic and a bit of cayenne pepper for a little kick plus whatever other spices I'm in the mood for. I also think it's best to let people add the milk themselves once served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States